We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #34 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A large group of us stayed at the Willoughby House hotel for 2 nights over the Easter weekend. The hotel was absolutely lovely with large rooms, beautiful decor and a really great location for us to get to Cheltenham town centre. The staff were some of the most friendly i have encountered and it felt like nothing was too much bother. Finally, breakfast was delicious on both mornings that we were lucky enough to stay here.

We will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

we occupied the hotel for 2 nights with a party of friends and relations for a wedding at The Daffodil. We all had a great time and were delighted with the facilities and the proprietors' helpfulness. The rooms are clean and well furnished, the ones on the ground floor are large and bright, the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeladavidGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We would like to say that our stay at Willoughby House was delightful. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were both clean and comfortable. It made for a splendid weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just had the pleasure to stay at this beautiful house. I disconected from reality and relaxed in my beautiful bedroom with the gorgeous towels and linen. The bedroom was so comfortable. I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed for one night in this beautiful hotel Just arrived home and had to write a review (1st time) Received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival which continued throughout our stay Could not fault this hotel Everything was perfect from breakfast to room to location Would certainly recommend this to all our friends Colin and Karen

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Willoughby is a gorgeous British home with each room uniquely decorated with high quality finishes. The owners are hands-on and attentive and from the moment we walked in the door we felt both welcome and comfortable. We enjoyed the honesty bar and found the private meeting rooms useful. The house is situated close to the town, just minutes from the beautiful Montpellier shopping area, and there are numerous restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Breakfast was superb – fresh juices, fruits, yakult, pastries and a full English breakfast should you wish to indulge. The internet access is free and so is the parking, although it can get a little full. The only downside is the rather large flight of stairs if you are booked into one of the top rooms – so if you have any knee or hip problems be sure to ask for a ground floor room, although our friend informed us it was a little noisy because of close access to the front door. I really had the impression that if we required anything the owners would bend over backwards to meet our needs. From our perspective the hotel is well priced and we wouldn’t hesitate staying there again should we visit beautiful Cheltenham. A true British experience!

Room Tip: Our room at the top of the hotel was a little small but had a pretty view over the garden. Our frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SagMoonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just spent 5 nights in Willoughby Hotel and found it to be a superb hotel, extremely comfortable, great ambience, breakfast included and not just continental but full buffet breakfast. The position of the hotel is a wonderful base for sightseeing throughout this wonderful region of the Cotwolds.

With the owners now managing the hotel themselves, there is nothing to fault, attention to detail is a priority with the Hopleys. Will definitely be recommending to others and returning ourselves. The Horne's

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HornesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 68 in Cheltenham
624 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
652 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
514 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments

Address: 1 Suffolk Square, Cheltenham GL50 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically converted, the unique hotel is star-listed as a building of special architectural and historical interest, so all essential features are maintained and preserved. However, retaining the charm of a bygone age doesn’t mean lack of mod-cons. From £99 per room, per night, Willoughby House offers affordable luxury throughout its individual rooms (including a four-poster suite with Jacuzzi bath) as well as fresh, homemade breakfasts, personal service, free on-site parking and wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing