We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Willoughby House Hotel, Cheltenham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #34 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Booked the Garden Apartment (for the fourth time) which is a seperate annexe to the Willoughby House hotel. The annexe, though on the lower level, is perfect for a family with two bedrooms, sitting room, kitchenette. So you can utilise the hotel facilities but, if needs be, have complete independence. The location of the hotel is superb - next to Montpellier and within easy walking distance of the Prom, Regents Arcade and High St. Plenty of parking space at the hotel. The rooms were clean with all the basics - pots, pans, cutlery, washing machine, iron etc. Terry, the owner, is a very pleasant host willing to assist with advice and directions. Spread over four people the cost of the annexe is very reasonable. Like Arnold Schwarzenneger said "We will be back!"

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alastair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Only stayed one night, en route to somewhere else, but felt immediately very welcome and as though we were staying with friends. The whole family gets involved in running the place and the house is beautifully kept, without being stuffy. Bed comfortable, plenty of storage space etc, although the bath was small and the shower spluttery; not a problem for one day but might have been irritating for longer. Beautiful building, spotlessly clean, loved the honesty bar. The owners also booked The Daffodil for us for dinner, which is a restaurant (formerly a cinema) literally round the corner and very stylish - well worth a visit. Would stay at Willoughby House again and recommend to others visiting Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPHobbs1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I would return to this beautiful hotel and recommend to my friends, especially those from abroad looking for a lovely break in a hotel with character, charm and class. The owners were so friendly and attentive. Probably one of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a guest house/hotel. The bed and bedding was of quality so we got a great night sleep and the location was perfect, close to some beautiful bars and restaurants (but it was stil quiet in the evening). I loved the decor and felt like I'd had a wonderful treat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is our 2nd stay at Willoughby House, the first was in January 2011 whilst travelling with two of our daughters and last week as a couple. Both visits have been just lovely. When we find accommodation that is clean, cosy, elegant with a personality of its' own, it becomes "our place of stay" on subsequent visits. We look for friendly, convenient for parking and eating out, and ease. The lounge upstairs with the honesty bar another homey feature. Just help yourself to drinks and sit and relax without staff hovering. The breakfast was great, Vanessa & Terry very friendly and helpful, nothing seems to be a bother, and their local knowledge invaluable. Vanessa directed us to Cleeve Hill as we wished to have some exercise - not only good exercise, but fabulous views and then the next day on our departure they suggested we go via Daylseford Farm - yum! Home away from home, thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenwal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What can I say we have just stayed in what is described as a hotel but was more like staying in a beautiful family home. We were given a key and access code to the front door so it really felt like staying with old friends rather than an impersonal hotel.The bedroom was gorgeous - beautifully dressed with a brilliant hot shower, lovely toiletries, hair dryer and most important, for most women, lots of light and mirrors, especially a magnifying mirror - great to "put your face on!". Fab breakfast where nothing was too much trouble and the small sitting room on the first floor was a delight and the honesty box a wonderful idea. Parking on site and a 3minute walk to the great shops, restaurants and bars of Montpelier made this one of the most delightful places I have stayed in for a long, long time. A first class place in a wonderful location.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeanmcveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the room - large size, four-poster bed, en-suite bathroom with jacuzzi and shower. The honesty bar was great and the two lounges upstairs was extremely cosy. I felt like being pampered at a private home. The staff was all very helpful and very friendly. Couldn't have been better, except that there is a risk for disturbance when one has a room on the ground floor next to the entrance. Partying people returning late is easily overheard through the door. Perhaps there could be a nice notice in the entrance that the walls are thin?
Our stay was part of a two weeks tour through england and I miss two things on most hotels (including this) - bathrobes and cheese for breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToutSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent 2 extremely comfortable nights in this very friendly, family run hotel. Such a warm welcome and hassle free check-in, with free internet usage and free on site parking, making such a difference to us whilst unpacking the car in the pouring rain and trying to meet up with friends. Terry and Vanessa arranged, with no fuss and very last minute, impromptu drinks for 8 of our friends in their upstairs drawing-room. It really was so relaxed and most appreciated by all. The breakfasts are a 'must' with perfectly cooked poached eggs and bacon to suit. I asked for a strong coffee and was delighted that it was brewed to perfect. The rooms are beautifully dressed and extremely clean, with a kettle for a quick cuppa and a real hairdryer, with power! There are numerous power sockets dotted around the room so the ease to recharge 2 phones + 2 computers was much appreciated by us both. The location of the hotel is convenient to the centre of Cheltenham, taking no more than 8 minutes to walk thus avoiding parking charges. There are numerous fabulous eating places but real 'musts' for the list are Jamie's Italian and Curry Corner. A great 2 nights and shall definitely return very soon. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JtWJersey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#5 of 69 in Cheltenham
626 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
654 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
516 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments

Address: 1 Suffolk Square, Cheltenham GL50 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically converted, the unique hotel is star-listed as a building of special architectural and historical interest, so all essential features are maintained and preserved. However, retaining the charm of a bygone age doesn’t mean lack of mod-cons. From £99 per room, per night, Willoughby House offers affordable luxury throughout its individual rooms (including a four-poster suite with Jacuzzi bath) as well as fresh, homemade breakfasts, personal service, free on-site parking and wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing