We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and classy, has a real regency Cheltenham charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #34 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish and classy, has a real regency Cheltenham charm!”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

What a great hotel!!! Staying here with its relaxing and calm atmosphere really does make you feel at home and makes you want to stay lazing around drinking coffee and reading the newspapers all day long. The Management is excellent attending to your every need, they couldn’t be more helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable. Breakfast is served in a fantastic first floor dining room overlooking Suffolk Square’s bowling green. We were spoilt for choice with continental and cooked breakfasts available.

The location of the hotel is perfect within easy walking distance of the town centre, local bars and restaurants.

I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and family as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I booked this for a romantic weekend away to celebrate my partners birthday, and we arrived late afternoon. Champagne was chilling in the Willoughy Suite, a beautiful Four Poster room, with fire and all necessary amenities. The second room wasn't used, but was handy as a place for our suitcase.

The bathroom was well appointed. Parking ample.

Breakfast was freshly prepared with local produce, and was served in the most beautiful dining room, with lovely views.

I found the hotel ideally placed, just a short walk from bars and restaurants, but still quiet and peaceful at night. Although there were other residents, we didn't hear any coming and going, and it was a lovely relaxing venue.

The staff were attentive, without being intrusive, and I cannot wait to return to this beautiful town for my birthday...!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were welcomed at Willoughby House as if we were old friends coming home (It was actually our first time visiting)!

The service throughout our stay was 1st class. The room was well appointed and offered lovely views across Suffolk Square and the Bowling Green.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and whilst it took a little longer to serve as it was all cooked to order it was well worth the wait. There was also a buffet table which offered an excellent choice of cereals, fresh fruits, croissants and general continental breakfast items.

We particually enjoye the 1st floor lounge which had a burning fire.

The whole building is in Regency style and is furnishe with some stunning furniture and art pieces.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roytravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I was in Cheltenham overnight and needed a room urgently, after phoning round various hotels with no luck and some which had very high priced rooms, I phoned a lovely chap in Willoughby house and he was able to set me up with a good sized room for a good price. The hotel demonstrates the history of Cheltenham through its very elegant decor which makes you feel you are taking a look at history. As for the food, I am a vegetarian and usually struggle to find decent options when staying in hotels. I was actually pleasantly surprised that on the breakfast menu there were enough options to suit all tastes. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We were checked in by a member of staff who couldn't bring himself to smile or even make eye contact. And this was after us waiting for someone to appear for quite some time! Our room was passable (dated decor though), but very small with an even smaller bathroom. Breakfast was Continental with the cooked option an expensive extra. Service at breakfast was once again off-hand and we had to repeatedly ask for more toast before we got any, same for tea refillls.

I had the clear impression that we were despised for booking cheaply via laterooms.com. Dont think we will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fangthewonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Really friendly little hotel. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, which was fab. Has the feel of a country hotel but right near the town. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Avoid the town centre on the weekend... full of teenagers. Near Montpellier, which is really nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Stayed for 2 nights for a girls weekend break. Very happy in every respect with this hotel.
The hotel has a good atmosphere, the staff are all really friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to the Wiloughby Suite on the ground floor and it really was lovely. The breakfast was buffet style for the juice;cereal;pastries, and cooked to order for the hot food. I had poached eggs one morning and they were perfectly cooked.
The location is really great. Just park the car in the car park and then explore Cheltenham by foot. Nice bars, restaurants (chain and independent) and boutique shops in a few minutes walking distance, and then just a few more minutes walk to the main town shops and pubs/clubs. Can't fault the hotel at all.
Cheltenham is very nice, surprisingly busy at night in the main town area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lypiatt House
Lypiatt House
#27 of 70 in Cheltenham
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
6 Suffolk Parade Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentons Guest House
Bentons Guest House
#22 of 70 in Cheltenham
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle Lodge Rooms
Eagle Lodge Rooms
#62 of 70 in Cheltenham
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 70 in Cheltenham
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments

Property: Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments
Address: 1 Suffolk Square, Cheltenham GL50 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically converted, the unique hotel is star-listed as a building of special architectural and historical interest, so all essential features are maintained and preserved. However, retaining the charm of a bygone age doesn’t mean lack of mod-cons. From £99 per room, per night, Willoughby House offers affordable luxury throughout its individual rooms (including a four-poster suite with Jacuzzi bath) as well as fresh, homemade breakfasts, personal service, free on-site parking and wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing