We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish Delight”
Review of Daphne Restaurant

Daphne Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
325 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked an evening meal at Daphne and were certainly not disappointed. The owner was wonderfully forthcoming with suggestions about the food and drinks. I've always liked bottled Turkish Efes lager and they have it here on draught. Starters and main courses were all of exquisite quality and equally well presented. it was good to try a mouthful of each others meal just a get a feel for the different tastes. We were made to feel very welcome throughout the evening. If you have baclava as a sweet don't mention Greece in the same breath. I did once but I think I got away with it. Well worth a visit but book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AleksHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    175
    31
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anniversary Delight”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Whilst Celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary in the the near by Well Walk Tea Rooms we were recommended Daphne's for our evening meal. This turned out to be a real night to remember, its been a long time since I have been to a restaurant of this quality. I must say foremost, from the moment I popped in to make the reservation until the act of walking out of the door completely satisfied after, I felt I had made a life long friendship with the owner Lhan and his hard working daughter Tugbal.
The Menu was both informative and varied, with the food excellently prepared with quality products. We will defiantly be returning and I can say after tasting the baklava it will be so difficult to actually pick any thing else off the dessert menu .

Barry and Angela from Cheltenham

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special experience”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

THis is a belated review as we ate here on 4th July! my girlfriend and I found a jewel of a restaurant in Daphne's. Despite living near and frequently eating in Cheltenham, we had never come across Daphne's before and relied upon the reviews on trip advisor to try somewhere different. Surprisingly we had the restauarant to ourselves and so had a very personal service! The atmosphere and ambience made it feel like we were actually in Turkey. Very romantic! Excellent food, beautifully presented and described with passion by the owner. Planning to take the whole family there for my girlfriends birthday in October. Really looking forward to it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJackie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Owner chef very welcoming and hospitable, excellent service. The meal was prepared fresh, well presented and tasted authentic. We worth a revisit. The special events look worth investigating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best Turkish Food in the County”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful service and the food is simple, fresh, beautifully cooked and absolutely delicious. This is not the type of Turkish restaurant that tries to stuff you with bread for a fixed price - you get what you pay for. Even the house wine was excellent.

I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daphne Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Daphne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing