We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Spent a few days at the Strozzi Palace recently on the yearly visit home from the US to see family. It was our first time there and we enjoyed it immensely. Let me start by saying this is not a hotel, so if your looking for a load of interaction with staff then you'll be in for a surprise. What the Strozzi Palace is are wonderful well fitted out apartments, 6 to be exact, all with the same Italian styling, but slight differences in size and layout. We were in the Tuscany on the 2nd floor. Just right for 2 people and the bedroom had double doors to shut it off from the rest of the apartment for an early riser like me. All the things you would want are there like wifi, alarm clock radio with mp3 player, 2 flat panel TV’s, great little kitchen with everything you need inc a French press for coffee, table and chairs for eating in, very well fitted bathroom with good quality toiletries. What i also liked was that they gave you all the essentials for breakfast like bread, croissants, marmalade, jams, tea, coffee, milk and juice etc. If there is a particular thing you like, ask them and the chances are, it will be in the fridge waiting for you. What i also noticed was that they are not cheap on the breakfast items either. No "value" Tesco bread here. Excellent quality! When i arrived, i bought myself a nice loaf of nutty brown bread, when we used it up, i left a message just asking for a loaf of bread, what was waiting for us was some more nutty brown bread. I liked that! They took notice of what we'd been using before!
Georgina and the housekeepers were great. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly They will come in and do housekeeping each day inc washing your pots and replenish breakfast items
The fact that there is no staff on site is no issue. We discovered that a quick email (or phone call) guaranteed a quick response inc one time when I had a suggestion that robes were the one thing missing and 30min later robes for every room appeared. Excellent quality for both the robes and towels

Another thing we liked was the lack of noise from the main road that’s part of Cheltenham’s one way system. There’s lots of clubs and pubs in that part of town but there was zero noise at 2am chucking out time so a good night’s sleep was always had.

The location of the Strozzi was perfect too, right in the centre of the town. Close to shops and restaurants. The nearest supermarket (Tesco) is 5min walk away. There are wonderful restaurants in Cheltenham and you are right by them at the Strozzi. Cheltenham’s Promenade and Montpellier are just short walks away.

The car park is just down the road, no more than a hundred yards. It’s a private car park for numerous businesses inc the Strozzi. There is plenty of parking there and its security monitored and lights come on via sensors when you come back in the dark. I know it’s monitored as I had a couple of conversations with a gentleman that would appear from the building next to it. I think he may have been the owner. I have to say he was a really nice guy and helped me out twice when there was no parking in the allocated spots . He’d just appear each time. I liked him and I know that my car is safe and sound under his watch.
This review is a lot longer than I usually do but I thought it was worth the time. If you like something, tell people about it and we were there 9 days.
I’m going to leave you all with a wonderful little tip .. Restaurants!
First thing, if you want to try a real English tea done the proper way, go to the Well Walk tea room just round the corner from the Strozzi Palace. Wonderful place
Just down the road from the Stozzi Palace and the car park is a very nice restaurant called the Chelsea Bar and Brasserie. They are part of a group of restaurants called the Brasserie Group. If you’re in Cheltenham for a few days and plan on eating out, go there and pick up a Brasserie VIP card, it costs you 20pounds but in return you get a free bottle of wine and a little plastic card that gets you discounts in other restaurants that are part of their group inc the Chelsea, a Thai and 4 Indian restaurants. I love Indian food so this was good and in the restaurants we went to, when you paid for one main course you got the other one free. You even got 20% off your coffee at a nice little coffee shop in Montpellier. The card paid for itself within 24hrs. There are other discounts available on the card too

We had a wonderful stay and know you will too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is in an awesome location in Cheltenham
The hotel is exactly as you can see in the web site and more.
I went during March at Siena Suite and I had a very good time.
Is ideal for couples!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabiolaMagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in Tuscany suite which has a sitting and dining area, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Excellent standard of finish in the room and the public areas, very clean and fully equipped, you get much more room than a normal hotel room, easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants in the middle in Cheltenham.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guernsey1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Fantastic location very close to the restaurants and shops, very clean, and fantastic decoration
My suite was superb with a huge bed, very quiet with a exquisite presentation I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Roma was smaller than it looked on the website but everything about it was lovely. The wet room was well appointed, fluffy towels on a hot rail and plenty of toiletries. Breakfast was good, quality yoghourts, plenty of fruit, cheese and ground coffee with a cafetiere. Nice magnifying mirror and a hairdryer provided, fast wifi and a book with details of how everything worked. Mattress on the firm side but I slept like a baby with the extra blanket thoughtfully at the end of the bed. The parking was welcome because it can be difficult to find in Cheltenham. Plenty of restaurants in easy distance.
Niggles.....only one chair at the desk so breakfast a deux would have to be in bed. I was alone so no problem. Had to plug in the hairdryer under the desk and the light over the shower was out. Nothing major and easily fixed.
The whole place was stylish and spotless.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strozzi, Manager at Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hello Gill Thank you for your feedback. The Roma suite has now been comprehensively reformed and is now able to provide a super kingsize bed, a dining area for two, air conditioning and the spectacular sky lantern with electric blind . We would welcome you back for you to experience the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is not a regular hotel. You book your room online and receive a code to enter the building and your suite. There is no reception, and no members of staff. The suites are lovely, clean and spacious. The breakfast is a bit limited, cheap cereal, a few fruit, and only two yoghurts. The only bread provided is sandwich bread, and there are no pastries. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the hotel will pre-approve a debit of £250 off your card to cover damages. We were not impressed by that. Considering that there is no staff around and no service at all, the room fees are very expensive. We would not return, because we prefer human contact and for a similar price you can find traditional hotels offering good service in Cheltenham.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lappini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strozzi, Manager at Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your feedback.

You are indeed correct. We are absolutely not a 'regular hotel'. Our web site goes to great lengths to explain the Strozzi Palace proposition clearly. We even dedicate an entire page on the website explaining precisely why we're different !

What we offer - with a passion - is just six spacious, premium luxury suites, not standard hotel rooms. There's no reception because our independently -minded clientele neither need, nor want one. You will have seen the housekeeping team and a duty manager on hand daily, each morning, servicing suites and the building; at all other times the senior management team is never more than phone call away. There's no restaurant, bar or room service because some of Cheltenham's finest establishments sit within 100m of our doors.

The freedom to experience central Cheltenham, staying in an intimate, private historic listed building is precisely why guests choose us above a hotel chain. By focusing exclusively on what guests really want - rather than what a national hotel chain thinks they must need - means the value and quality we can provide is absolutely second to none. Our countless glowing reviews and guest satisfaction surveys speak volumes.

Our online booking process is thorough to ensure every suite is prepared to a guest's exact specifications. It includes the option, at no extra cost, to nominate a wide range of items for breakfast, or accept a standard selection for convenience. Sadly you didn't tell us which alternative breakfast items (including pastries) you would have preferred.

Lastly, in line with most of the hotel industry, holiday apartment or even property rental, we always pre-authorise payment cards for the duration of any stay. We provide a very high quality product: we cannot risk accepting a stolen or invalid credit card on our reservation file, or having no recourse in the unlikely event of guest damage or breach-of-terms. To reiterate, this is NOT a charge. This pre-authorisation falls off the card a couple of days after your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in the Tuscany Suite for one night for a romantic break! The suite was lovely, nicely decorated and roomy! The bedroom was beautiful with a huge bed. The kitchen was clean, shiny and the fridge had a few things inside for us to eat prior to going out to dinner! The bathroom was great with a nice big bath and a fabulous shower!

Really enjoyed our stay - The only issue was that once I had a bath, there was no hot water for my husband to then have a shower - but we survived and I giggled a lot!!

Would most definitely return without question!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
544 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley

Address: 55 St. Georges Place, Cheltenham GL50 3LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £99 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strozzi Palace by Mansley Serviced Apartments offer six luxurious boutique, located in the heart of Cheltenham town centre less than a minute’s walk from Cheltenham Promenade’s legendary shops, restaurants and boutiques. Cheltenham’s Art Gallery and Library are metres away. Built in 1894, our Grade II listed ‘Palazzo’ façade is based on the beautiful Palazzo Strozzi – one of the most important examples of Renaissance architecture in Florence. Our self-contained luxury suites offer everything you could dream off and more with the option of self-catering, perfect for business or leisure travellers. PLEASE NOTE: when booking via an online travel agents parking is NOT INCLUDED. Parking is chargeable and cannot be refunded. Parking is only reimbursed when booking direct. Please read terms and conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing