We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much better than a traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So much better than a traditional hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We love boutique places and the Strozzi Palace is a fantastic place right in the middle of Cheltenham. The room was exceptionally fitted out; beautifully decorated. For half the price of a usual hotel this is excellent value. You don't need a hotel dining room or breakfast given there are fantastic restaurants within 5 minutes walk - Lumiere is exceptional for dinner and Boston Tea Party (literally 100yds away) does great breakfasts.

Lovely touches like fruit, chee and meats in the fridge just top off the experience. We met the owners on our way out and they were lovely too.

Room Tip: Car parking sign is a little small - the entrance is just after the church car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GSVBagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    73
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
254
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed on numerous occasions & have only positive comments.
The location, right in Town is ideal. The secure parking is close and easy to use.
The booking process & correspondence with Strozzi staff is excellent, always so friendly and helpful.
Rooms are always meticulously clean and smart.
Our ideal stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingkelpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here at short notice whilst meeting friends nearby. The booking was easy, we even had a phone call letting us know about the position of the hotel, how to get in and how to use the nearby car park (just over the road). Everything was clean and tidy with the air-conditioned suite being very well appointed. Bed comfortable and plenty of hot water for 2 showers. Continental style breakfast was first class with fresh fruit, cereals and croissants; everything had been thought of. Top marks to the team who look after the place.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the street tend to be noisier. Try to get one with a balcony at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned home from a great stay at Strozzi.

Everything was exactly as explained on the website.

Friendly staff - unfortunately my phone wasn't connecting to 3G (even though it was available) so couldn't open the directions to the car park. We phoned up and the staff were very helpful and told us exactly were to go (just across the road!).

Even though it's not a usual hotel the staff are on the end of the phone and seem like they would do anything to help you out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elesebeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Napoli suite for 2 nights. We booked here based on the volume of positive reviews here on Tripadvisor and also because David provided us with the sort of clear and prompt responses that impressed us over other hotels we inquired with. The rate was also quite fair and importantly, the hotel had King beds! Not ‘doubles’ moonlighting as ‘Kings’ but proper King-size beds that are hard to find even in modern English hotels!

We thought the whole ‘no reception’ and ‘special code’ access to the building was quite a novel thing and were looking forward to the unique experience. We were not disappointed!

We were pleased to have bumped into Georgina upon our entry who kindly took us to our room. In the end I think having a warm greeting and a happy face to greet us, perhaps made for a perfect experience.

We were impressed with our Suite. Much nicer in fact that most hotel rooms we have stayed in! It felt very much like being in your own home rather than a hotel room and we enjoyed this. No staff constantly knocking on doors, no maids, no phone calls from reception...just the luxury of peace and tranquillity in our own space for 2 nights! What bliss!

If we weren't in Cheltenham for sightseeing, we could easily stay in the suite for a few days! We have never opened a hotel's fridge and seen it stocked with proper milk, juice, yogurts, fruits, cheese and meat platter, jams and jellies. Nor have we ever been provided with chocolate croissants, full loaves of bread and assorted cereals on our kitchen counter! This place has got the ambience, service and amenities perfected to an art form!

We could not utter a negative word about our stay! The whole Suite in classic black and white was very elegant! The couch was so comfy we had a hard time getting out of it! We loved the king bed; it provided us with restful nights sleep.

So centrally located, we were a block to the High street and literally a 2-minute slow stroll to one of the best Thai restaurants in Cheltenham obliquely opposite the hotel.

What really set this hotel apart for us was the service and the willingness to go above and beyond! Traveling from overseas we packed light on our airline’s 1-bag limit for our 2-week vacation. Arriving into Cheltenham in the middle of our stay, we needed to find a laundry service to ensure that we had enough clean clothes for another week.
David came to our rescue by finding a local laundry service to do a basic service wash for us, and Georgina collected our laundry as soon as we settled in and dropped it over to the company. The next day, when we returned to our Suite following a day of sightseeing, our clothes were all clean; folded on the bed in plastic wrapping and my husband's collared shirts ironed and hung in the cupboard! Now if that isn't superior service, I don't know what is!

We really felt welcomed from the start to end of our stay despite there being no visible hotel staff or reception. We also felt like we were truly at home away from home. At the end of the day, if every stay could be like this, our vacations would always be memorable and truly perfect! Thanks David, Georgina and the entire Strozzi Palace Team!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strozzi, Manager at Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very complimentary review
about your boutique hotel suite experience in central Cheltenham.

Since your visit, we have just recently finished remodeling our foyer to
provide a manned reception desk. For our many 'James Bond' fans, the freedom
and convenience of security code access for all guests and a hassle-free
self check-in/out service remain unchanged.

It means a lot to the Strozzi Palace team to hear that guests enjoy their
stay with us and genuinely do appreciate the extra effort we make.

We do hope you will return to us again on your next trip to the UK.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in the Milano Suite for one night The rooms (living area and bedroom) were adequate for 2 people. It was decorated nicely and the accommodations were clean and well maintained.The food left for breakfast was more than generous and quite tasty and appreciated. The staff who I had email contact with were very helpful and accommodating. We were having our luggage transported so we could hike and they coordinated with the luggage pick up company. The location is very convenient. Everything went very smoothly and we were both happy with our stay.

Room Tip: The Milano is on the second floor.We had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancybg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in the Tuscany suite and we were not disappointed, Quality throughout the suite and spotless throughout. The bed was one of the best I've slept in. Very good selection for breakfast items and beverages. The location is excellent, Close to the the town centre and yet in a quiet location.

If you want a quality stay in Cheltenham with a home from home feel. Stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Thai emerald restaurant just over the road is amazing, If you like a hot curry, try the jungle curry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
22.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites

Property: Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Address: 55 St. Georges Place, Cheltenham GL50 3LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly in city centre, adjacent to Cheltenham's famous shopping Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing