We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Greenway Restaurant
Ranked #201 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cirencester
2 reviews
“Pretentious!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Food was expensive, small portions, warm (nowhere near hot), pretentious (fennel pollen, compressed apple (apple puree/sauce??), girotte cherries??)

Ambiance was non-existent

Very disappointing all round. Thankfully the company was great, otherwise a completely wasted, expensive evening....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 931Bluebell931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel is in a superb setting. We sat in the lounge before lunch and the decor was lovely. The very elegant restaurant looks out onto a pond and hills the background. We were served by what I believe was the Restaurant Manager. He was attentive without being intrusive. He was friendly but professional. The food was excellent and after our meal we were shown around the spa area. We then sat in the gardens for a while

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Ate here while we were staying at the hotel and had a wonderful dinner from the 3 course menu. Very good for the value.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The 7 course New Years eve dinner was as good as it gets”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Breakfast was the worst part of the stay didn't get what I ordered but didn't want to make a fuss. Friends haddock was almost frozen in the middle and the poached egg was hard boiled.
Fresh orange juice and cold table excellent.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank woodyCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Poor....”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Poor service and even poorer choice of music! They were playing Elvis Presely's non Christmas songs and this was a week before Christmas!!! The service was non existence and the food was average! This place is going downhill very fast!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CKCK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greenway Restaurant also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Greenway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing