We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My expectations were too high.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Greenway Restaurant
Ranked #191 of 443 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My expectations were too high.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Four of us arrived promptly for a 7.30pm reservation. We waited a few moments the the Maître D came out of the dining room and told us to wait in the bar and someone would bring us a menu. Someone arrived and took a drinks order and brought menus. The venison was finished and the only meat dish left was duck. No problem we all liked duck. They took us through to the restaurant at 8.10pm but it was 8.30 before our starters arrived. Scallops and cod cheeks. Well the scallops were superb, beautifully cooked and the cod cheeks.....they were missing. The duck arrived 45 Mins after they cleared the starters - a little slow. Mine was excellent but my husband had the two ends cut from mine. I think there were two duck breasts between the four of us. The fois gras that accompanied it was a delight. I ordered the pear soufflé for dessert as pear is a favourite of mine. This was a huge disappointment. It was not a soufflé but was a soft meringue browned on the top. There was not the slightest trace of pear or even the egg yoke come to that. My husband had more success with the cheese. There was an excellent choice of cheeses with grapes, celery and chutney and a great selection of biscuits. One small irritation during the evening was the music, marginally too loud, an album of Frank Sinatra hits. The third time it played on a loop Frank had lost his appeal. The staff were plentiful but service was in short supply. In all, it was not up to the standard I was expecting from its reputation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GillXc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food but terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've been to the Greenway several times over the years - it's always been somewhere we went for a special occasion. On our last two visits the service has been terrible - waiting 15 minutes before we were acknowledged by the waiter, who then forgot our drinks twice. Other things, such as the bread coming out at the same time as the starter, being given a glass of port with debris in and having to wait 5 minutes just to flag a waiter down in the small restaurant really ruined the experience.

As usual the food was lovely, but they also now no longer entrees or pre-desserts, which meant we were still hungry at the end of the three course set meal.

Not great, especially when there are so, so many other great restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxcote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“excellent food - quality was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

wonderful 3 course lunch, with some fantastic fish. Ice cream was incredible. Definitely a fine dining experience, small portions, but really great, fresh and tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salcheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrendous!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We went in Feb for a big birthday. The service was appalling. The waitresses had no interest or knowledge of the food they served. Seabass for 5 persons of our group were served raw and went it was sent back our plates was sent back resembling scrambled dinner. As a group we sat with our wine glasses empty for big periods of time having to wait for top-ups as the wine was put on a different table in the corner of the room. Overall extremely disappointing. I think the lack of a supervisor was very obvious as service were just very unprofessional and poor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 111Basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
2 reviews
“Pretentious!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Food was expensive, small portions, warm (nowhere near hot), pretentious (fennel pollen, compressed apple (apple puree/sauce??), girotte cherries??)

Ambiance was non-existent

Very disappointing all round. Thankfully the company was great, otherwise a completely wasted, expensive evening....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 931Bluebell931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greenway Restaurant also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Greenway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing