We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for Cotswold Way Walkers”
Review of Detmore House

Detmore House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Detmore House
Ranked #27 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not recommended for Cotswold Way Walkers”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a nicely furnished, clean, high-end B&B, but I did not receive a warm reception. I was chided and lectured at length by both Mr and Mrs for arriving 2 hours "late." The owners claimed that I had entered 4:00PM on my online booking form. This was a simple entry mistake on my part, but it was if I had commited a serious crime. Being tired after walking all day and climbing Cleeve Hill, I was not in the mood for a protracted argument. I almost put my boots back on and left. This would have resulted in loss of significant money, so I stayed, but I let them know that I did not appreciate their attitude. Note also that after you book using their online system, you will receive a legal document explaining that there is no chance of getting out of full payment, no matter what. Long-distance walkers, especially seniors like myself, need lodgings that are somewhat flexible. I would never stay here again. I highly recommend the wonderfully friendly, less expensive, clean, and easier to locate Charlton Kings Hotel, which is slightly closer to the trail on the main road. It also has a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enkanear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I should start by saying that to me Detmore house looked more like a small luxury boutique hotel than a mere B&B. I was immediately impressed by the surrounding countryside and gardens and then by the house itself. The room was simply perfect, spacious and top-notch. The huge bathroom is bathed in natural light that comes in through a large window that offers stunning views of the garden. I must say it exceeded my expectations- it is better than it looks on the internet site. The breakfast - freshly cooked at a previously arranged time-is served in the dining room downstairs and makes you feel like you are actually the guest at someone's house. The hosts, Hugh and Gill, are a marvelous couple- welcoming and thoughtful. They kindly printed a map of Cheltenham for us and even furnished us with a huge umbrella when the weather changed.
I just wish we could have stayed longer . The Cotswolds area - which my husband rightfully called 'England's Tuscany"- deserves a long, more relaxed stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Definitely 5 star accommodation. Glorious setting just outside Cheltenham, very quiet and peaceful, although close to A40 it felt as if we were in a country hotel. Warm welcome from Gill and Hugh. The room (Oak) was beautiful and spacious, with enormous bathroom. Freshly cooked breakfast to order. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here during race week and have to say was overwhelmed by the house.
The photo's on the website do not do it justice.
Our room was top notch with all the trappings of a 5 star B&B.
I found the hosts extremely accommodating and the breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Cheltenham.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EggyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for one night to visit Cheltenham Races. It is a lovely well presented house at the very top end of B&B's. spotlessly clean with nice little touches. But I have a couple of moans! Have waited to write my review but I'm still annoyed, Having paid £160 for 1 night to come back up from breakfast to find our bedroom door wide open and the cleaner already stripped the bed before check out time I find a bit rude, especially when walking along the landing to leave hearing "oh they're going now" and being asked for our room keys! I understand that during the Cheltenham Festival it will be busy but I haven't had that treatment before and would not expect it in this price range. Also filled in our breakfast menu and recieved some of the requested items didn't bring it to attention as the host did not seem approachable, also thought it was rather rude to clear & wipe the table with guests still chatting. All in all a great house in a fantastic setting could just do with being a bit friendlier with a bit of thought about guests feelings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIZZLEHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We (husband and I) stayed at very short notice for one night during Cheltenham Races on November 17th. It was chosen for us by my cousin who was coming down from Scotland as there were no more rooms where he was staying. I'm sure we're the ones who struck lucky. Really impressive house, beautifully and very tastefully decorated. Whole house was spotless and the room was of an exceptionally high standard. Breakfast was a feast if you wanted to indulge. Couldn't fault the place and would like to stay longer so may well arrange something in 2013 when the weather is better and we can explore the area better. Would certainly recommend to friends or anyone. It was more expensive than normal but then we expected that in Gold Cup week. Any other time it would certainly be value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at Detmore House for two nights in September,using it as a base for exploring the Cotswolds. We booked based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.Beautifully situated, it was lovely and quiet with great views. On driving up the long drive way when we arrived we were greeted by the sight of two buzzards! Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were spotless. It felt more like staying in a hotel than a B&B. We love our gadgets and appreciated the free Wifi and i-pod dock. The breakfasts were great too. We would thoroughly recommend it and would love to stay again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charlton Kings Hotel
Charlton Kings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilden Lodge
Hilden Lodge
#1 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenfall Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detmore House

Property: Detmore House
Address: Detmore House London Road | Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Detmore House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Detmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing