We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detmore House

Detmore House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Detmore House
Ranked #23 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“October Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very clean and comfortable and nicely situated for either walking or visiting Cheltenham ( which we did ) Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice. There was enough restaurants to satisfy most tastes . An all round good choice but I suspect a little crowded in the summer months

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 716anthony_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at the Detmore in their 'Oak' suite. It was a very restful and enjoyable break for us. The room was very large with a very large and comfy bed, sofa and arm chair. The en suite was enormous with a great double shower and roll top bath. Breakfast really started the day well with lots of choice all cooked to order. The house was well away from the road and even though all rooms were occupied it was very quiet. We definitely recommend the Detmore.

Room Tip: Of the 4 rooms available the best is the 'Oak', It has plenty of room, a super king bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at Detmore House for one night while hiking the Cotswold Way. The house is in a tranquil park-like setting a short walk from a very busy road. Owner Gill put me in a spacious modern room on the second floor with comfortable twin beds; the ensuite bathroom was modern with a powerful shower. This was one of the few B & B's I stayed in where I was asked to fill out a menu, ticking off my choices for the next mornings breakfast. In-room amenities were above average and the breakfast was excellent, including a wide selection of fresh fruits. Gill was a welcoming host and thoughtfully gave me a lift down the busy road after breakfast to the point where I could pick up the Cotswold Way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst walking the Cotswold way and although it was not directly on the path it was not too far away. On arrival we took off our boots and were taken to a very plush room with lovely fluffy towels, a very comfortable bed and a nice Juliet balcony looking out over the land. The breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had a couple of days here and can only describe it as an exceptional B&B that exceeded our expectations.Best B&B we've ever stayed at.Friendly and welcoming attitude of the Proprietors..Nothing was too much trouble.Would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talanarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were walking along the Cotswold Way and had a little difficulty finding the place. A sign on both sides of Detmore Close (street) would have been helpful. If you are walking north to south, do a 180 degree turn at Detmore Close and you'll see the sign. The B&B is beautiful. What a lovely house. The hostess was very kind. She even called a cab for us to go into town for dinner. She suggested an excellent place for dinner. The room was beautiful and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I've just returned from a fantastic visit to Detmore House. We were a arty of four adult and four children under five so we were a bit of a handful as you can imagine. Gill couldn't have been more accommodating and flexible. The breakfasts were scrummy and we had brought our own wine for the evening and Hugh kindly provided glasses etc. We were also given good local recommendations for eating and recreation. We will definitely return and with such good value I would highly recommend others visit too.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilden Lodge
Hilden Lodge
#1 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charlton Kings Hotel
Charlton Kings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Malvern View Cotswold Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenfall Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detmore House

Property: Detmore House
Address: Detmore House London Road | Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Detmore House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Detmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing