We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House, Congenial Host”
Review of Detmore House

Detmore House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Detmore House
Ranked #28 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Congenial Host”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Detmore House is a pleasant inn, situated down a long lane and away from the busy street. We were walking the Cotswold Way, and Gill picked us up at the nearby Hungry Horse pub and returned us to the Cotswold Way there the next morning. The house is lovely, and Gill was an accommodating host; and she was able to recommend a good pub within walking distance. Breakfast was very good, and served in a comfortable, well-appointed dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    7
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived like two drowned rats after walking in the rain for six hours. Our host gathered our very wet clothing and soaking boots and whipped them off to the drying room. They appeared at the door the next morning dry and ready for another day of hiking.
Also Jill kindly gave us a ride to a nearby restaurant for our evening meal.
The room was spacious, clean and had a very modern bath. Super clean!!!
Delicious. Breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Serena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Detmore House for one night at the end of our third day walking the Cotswold Way. We had walked from Cleeve Hill to Seven Springs in beautiful weather, and had arranged to phone Huw at the Detmore House to pick us up which he did within 15 minutes. Detmore House is a very impressive house with its own private drive at Charlton Kings on the outskirts of Cheltenham. Huw and Gill were very welcoming and showed us to a beautiful large and comfortable en suite room with a massive bed and adjacent sitting area. After settling into our room we were asked to fill a form listing what we wanted for breakfast and what time, which I thought was an excellent idea because we could choose exactly what we wanted. There does not seem to be very many places to eat within easy walk of Detmore House except for the nearby small Charlton Kings Hotel where Gill had booked a table for a nice drink and evening meal which was of excellent quality and served by a pleasant proprietor. After a quiet night's sleep the breakfast was excellent, and Huw very efficiently drove us back to Seven Springs to continue our Cotswold Way walk. We would be very happy to recommend a stay at the excellent Detmore House, but it is on the outskirts of Cheltenham, and up to 3/4mile from the Cotswold Way.

Room Tip: The "Oak Room" on the first floor was excellent and spacious with a beautiful views of dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A lovely house set in extensive grounds, a little way off the Cotswold way 1 mile but the owner ran us to the Pub on the night and to the walk in the morning for which we were very grateful. The rooms were of high quality comfy Queen beds and showers in Baths, very clean and tidy. The breakfast was one of the best we had on the walk with fresh cut fruit, Cerial, and cooked breakfast. The rooms were very warm, I took the cover off the duvet, even with the Juliette widow wide open it was still warm, I am sure in the summer there will be sheets. It was the most expensive Bed and Breakfast we stayed in but the quality matched the price.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms with the bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in the Oak room, and the views over our beautiful English countryside were spectacular. The room too was equally fabulous with bay windows fitting for the period of the property seating a comfortable settee to enjoy the views. Gill the host, provided useful little extras in the room to make it home from home. I had one of the best nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. The bathroom gives both separate bath and lovely free standing shower. All is exceptionally clean. We would definitely return if in that part of the country again.

Room Tip: The Oak Room for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is my second visit to Detmore House and it did not disappoint
Stayed for three nights during the Cheltenham Festival. Very comfortable, very clean and beautiful rooms. Breakfast was more than adequate with an excellent choice of fruit,cereals, and cooked breakfast. I had a twin room with a shower room overlooking the grounds and it was lovely.
An added bonus was the WI-FI and it is the first hotel i have stayed in that had BT Infinity installed. This was an added bonus to a place that never fails to impress.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COLIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were walking the Cotswold way, staying mainly in little B&Bs, so this large, smart property in its extensive grounds was a little out of the ordinary. We had a very large and light room ('Maple'), nicely decorated and with a modern bathroom containing a 'proper' shower (not one of these dribbly English showers which we encountered in most properties). There was a good breakfast selection (I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) and the lady of the house was a welcoming hostess. We felt a bit out of place tramping into this vast, echoey place in our muddy walking boots, but we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charlton Kings Hotel
Charlton Kings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Charlton Kings
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenfall Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilden Lodge
Hilden Lodge
#1 of 6 in Charlton Kings
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
54 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 70 in Cheltenham
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detmore House

Property: Detmore House
Address: Detmore House London Road | Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Detmore House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Detmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing