We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with big rooms”
Review of Detmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Detmore House
Ranked #29 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here while hiking the Cotswolds Way. Big room, nice bath ensuite, good breakfast. A way from the path. Host will take you to a local pub for dinner. Too bad we were only there one night as there is a big yard and lawn with various wildlife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were walking the Cotswold Way and stayed at Detmore House (April 17th). We walked to Seven Springs and Gill picked us up at the local pub. The house was one of the finest that we stayed at during our six weeks of walking various trails in England. Our room was very comfortable. Gill directed us to a good restaurant, but we choose a closer one and found that we should have followed her advice. The breakfast was wonderful and served in a grand breakfast room. Gill's husband (sorry, I do not remember his name now) drove us back to Seven springs in the morning and we are able to pick up the trail where we left off.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I arrived off the Cotswald Way after a day of rain and Gill was very helpful - dried our clothes, drove us to the restaurant. House is grand and room was finest we stayed in during our week long trip - very modern room with full bath. A bit of a hike from the Way but not a lot of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4921bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Detmore House is a pleasant inn, situated down a long lane and away from the busy street. We were walking the Cotswold Way, and Gill picked us up at the nearby Hungry Horse pub and returned us to the Cotswold Way there the next morning. The house is lovely, and Gill was an accommodating host; and she was able to recommend a good pub within walking distance. Breakfast was very good, and served in a comfortable, well-appointed dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prairiewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived like two drowned rats after walking in the rain for six hours. Our host gathered our very wet clothing and soaking boots and whipped them off to the drying room. They appeared at the door the next morning dry and ready for another day of hiking.
Also Jill kindly gave us a ride to a nearby restaurant for our evening meal.
The room was spacious, clean and had a very modern bath. Super clean!!!
Delicious. Breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Serena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Detmore House for one night at the end of our third day walking the Cotswold Way. We had walked from Cleeve Hill to Seven Springs in beautiful weather, and had arranged to phone Huw at the Detmore House to pick us up which he did within 15 minutes. Detmore House is a very impressive house with its own private drive at Charlton Kings on the outskirts of Cheltenham. Huw and Gill were very welcoming and showed us to a beautiful large and comfortable en suite room with a massive bed and adjacent sitting area. After settling into our room we were asked to fill a form listing what we wanted for breakfast and what time, which I thought was an excellent idea because we could choose exactly what we wanted. There does not seem to be very many places to eat within easy walk of Detmore House except for the nearby small Charlton Kings Hotel where Gill had booked a table for a nice drink and evening meal which was of excellent quality and served by a pleasant proprietor. After a quiet night's sleep the breakfast was excellent, and Huw very efficiently drove us back to Seven Springs to continue our Cotswold Way walk. We would be very happy to recommend a stay at the excellent Detmore House, but it is on the outskirts of Cheltenham, and up to 3/4mile from the Cotswold Way.

Room Tip: The "Oak Room" on the first floor was excellent and spacious with a beautiful views of dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A lovely house set in extensive grounds, a little way off the Cotswold way 1 mile but the owner ran us to the Pub on the night and to the walk in the morning for which we were very grateful. The rooms were of high quality comfy Queen beds and showers in Baths, very clean and tidy. The breakfast was one of the best we had on the walk with fresh cut fruit, Cerial, and cooked breakfast. The rooms were very warm, I took the cover off the duvet, even with the Juliette widow wide open it was still warm, I am sure in the summer there will be sheets. It was the most expensive Bed and Breakfast we stayed in but the quality matched the price.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms with the bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#4 of 69 in Cheltenham
624 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detmore House

Address: Detmore House London Road | Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £107 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Detmore House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Detmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing