We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent. Place to be especially for Sunday lunch!!!”
Review of The Beaufort Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beaufort Arms
Ranked #55 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Excellent. Place to be especially for Sunday lunch!!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have had very good feedback from my clients staying here, however personally after Sunday lunch pub crawl each week to try as many of the carvery's as possible in cheltenham this has to be the best I have found by far... All freshly cooked (not soggy frozen veg as most places are) fresh potatoes and all meats cooked perfectly, this has now become my usual Sunday haunt when eating out! Also Thatchers on tap is always a winner!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
12
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you wish to stay in a nice place with really really good food in a pub where locals hang out and the family that run the place are as sweet as pie, this is it. and..... all of this for a very reasonable price. If you are looking for pretentious, this is not the pace for you. Just down-home comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimAlexandria_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

On my arrival I felt extremely welcome, the staff were all very friendly and even offered to carry my bags for me. My evening meal was delicious and breakfast the same, I felt that the staff went out of their way to accommodate my requests and a packed lunch was prepared for me without hesitation when requested. To top off my stay the room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Good clean basic accommodation. No nonsense. Great cheap food and beer. Fish cakes are a real treat. Bar has a great atmosphere, with a good mix of chatty locals. Superb staff are happy to help. Close enough to the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

For £35 B&B in Cheltenham, I was quite happy with the deal. My room was clean, as was the shared bathroom a flight of stairs down. The stairs are narrow, but, it was not a problem for me.

I was able to park in the front space of the Beaufort Arms as it is restricted to about 3 or spaces, otherwise, parking on the road outside is possible.

A great selection of ales and the barman was pleasant and attentive.

I was warmly greeted by the father of the owner for breakfast and the full English was cooked to my satisfaction. Cereals, juices and fresh fruit were available prior to the full breakfast.

It is not too far out of town to walk, an easy straight route that takes about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

First impressionbs count...well when we pulled u outside and saw the scafolding and ded flowers in the hanging baskets we tried to stay positive. The bar area was uninviting and the staff not as nice or as helpfull as you'd like (not rude though) Due to our welcome we changed our lans and went out to eat elsewhere as the pub didn't take our fancy.

On the plus side, rooms were pretty clean and warm but didn't seem value for money. The shared bathroom was down 2 flights of stairs too! Not enough tean and coffee etc in the room, but we found the top up stash so wasn't really a problem.

Breakfast was pretty poor, we'd really hoped a nice fry up would be the start to a nice holiday, but sour milk, burnt bacon and deep fried potatoes just spoilt this all for us. The toast and orange juice was nice.

To be fair to the owner, without us prompting him, he gave us a discount of £15 due to the milk being off.

The reviews of this lace all seemed very good and we hoped we'd enjoy the same positive experience. Maybe there has been a change of ownership but the place we stayed at recently isn't the one describe in the reviews.

Room Tip: Best advice, choose a room at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RallyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful evening meal at the Beaufort, it is the first time that we have eaten there and we were not disappointed. The food was piping hot, very well presented and very good quality, at a price that was very reasonable. The kitchen obviously has pride in their work and you can easily tell this by the look & taste. Would recommend it for sure, and would definately return for another meal without second thought.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perki123186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Eagle Lodge Rooms
#58 of 70 in Cheltenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbots Lee
Abbots Lee
#27 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Arms

Property: The Beaufort Arms
Address: 184 London Road, Cheltenham GL52 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaufort Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaufort Arms is a traditional family run Wadworth Public House with great facilities including a pizzeria, skittle alley, darts, and six rooms offering a variety of accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Beaufort Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing