We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Accommodation ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portland Apartments
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at Portland Apartments and were very impressed. The apartment we were staying in was if a very high specification with everything you needed and more. Highly recommend if you are in Cheltenham. Good central location too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fraser121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Portland Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Exceptionally clean, lovely decor, superbly equipped. Unless you want room service, makes a hotel suite look pretty inadequate. Will definitely stay again. And just a 2 minute walk from main shopping area, theatre and cinema. One very minor niggle - the top of the curtains in the bedroom let in a bit too much light, but otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbakery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found the Portland Apartments on the internet. The website is easy to use and the information complete and accurate. The bookingproces went smoothly. When we arrive a couple of months later in Cheltenham we where blown away. What a bilding and our suite "Montpellier" was as in the pictures in the web and more ! We immidately felt home. Everything was there to live an easy life. The kitchen is fully equiped to cook yourself a dinner. The living is cosy and homely. It is nice when you come back home after a day enjoying the surroundings to find yourself a warm place with more space than a hotelroom to relax.
Everything including garden and hallway are spotless. And the fridge is already filled with some breakfast items. There is parkingspace for the car at the rear of the bilding.

We where welcomed and get a lot of information about shops and restaurants. Once we had a fantastic dinner at The Curry Corner in walking distance of the apartment.
The city centre and shops are almost at your doorstep.

Cheltenham is a perfect place to stay and exploire the Cotswolds. 5 days was not enough so we will come back and definitely stay at the Portland again !
Price/quality is very good !

Room Tip: Montpellier Suite, but All the apartments are as beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reisverslaafde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What can I say!!! We stayed in the Battledown suite for 3 nights and cannot fault it. The location is perfect - some great shopping and restuarants a matter of minutes down the road and a great base to explore the gorgeous Cotswold villages . The apartment was ideal; gorgeous decor, lots of space with perfect finishing touches. This apartment had small patio area too. The little extras, such as bread, fresh juice, croissants and cookies just made the stay even more perfect. The kitchen was VERY well equipped so after a busy day exploring we were able to make some food and relax in the lounge area. We then started off the day with a delicious coffee using the dolce gusto coffee machine. Would definitely recommend and plan to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Could not fault my 9 week stay here! Perfect home from home whilst I was working away in Gloucester. Spectacular rooms throughout, decorated to a high standard. Nice extras include milk, bread and croissionts in the fridge for when you arrive. Beats any hotel in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natkins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I met here with two girl friends as it was middle ground; two of us from the south coast and one from mid Wales. We found the apartment we were in to be just right- lovely decor, up to date amenities, a selection of items in a breakfast pack and a parking space outside specifically for the flat. There was additional parking for free over the road too which suited us with two cars. The apartment was close to the city for night and day entertainment and the check in and out was flawless. I ended up leaving my hot water bottle in the bed and the owner kindly posted it back to me the next day- that is wonderful service if you ask me. Enjoy your stay! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in November. It was my first visit to the area and the apartments are located within easy walk of the town centre with excellent facilities and high end finishes. My only very small grumble was that I was working while I was there and the work space was the kitchen bench. The stools are very high and I ended up with a bit of a sore back. A table would have been better or even a desk in the alcove where the fireplace once was. Our basement apartment was great as it had direct access to the carpark out the back and a much less steep staircase for bring the luggage in and out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,014 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Apartments

Address: 43 Portland Street, Cheltenham GL52 2NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £122 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Portland apartments are a 15-minute walk from the racecourse and a 5-minute walk from the stylish shops, restaurants and bars.This elegant serviced accommodation is in the heart of Cheltenham Spa and is a home from home for the business or leisure visitor; a place to relax, work or play.The apartments are exquisitely furnished to the highest specification. All have unique, stunning features. Portland Apartments is ideal for the Cheltenham Festival or a weekend away in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Portland Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing