We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portland Apartments
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We found Portland Apartments on Booking.com and thought it offered all we wanted, space and privacy for a couple of days in Cheltenham as a stopover and Spa stop on the way down to Cornwall. We were not disappointed and would stay there again.

We were in the Battledown Suite which is a basement apartment but well appointed and very comfortable and not dark or dingy.

Alyson who was or contact there was very helpful and gave us a great intro to what the apartment had to offer and very good recommendations for restaurants to eat in.

The breakfast goodies supplied (free) were great, as much as needed along with the fruit & biscuits etc.

In hindsight the only improvement we could suggest is that there should be a safe in the apartment to allow valuables to be secured.

Generally would really recommend this accommodation - what it is and where it is (just off the city centre area - 5-10 mins walk away for shops and restaurants and a very good Spa across the road as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a great three night stay here in the Prestbury Suite. The decor of these apartments is really lovely with everything provided that one could possibly need. Lovely comfy queen size bed with quality bed linen. TV in both lounge & bedroom. Full kitchen with nice provisions - milk, cereals, bread, croissants, juice, tea etc. Bathroom is good with walk in shower .
The location is great as you can walk straight down the road & you are in the middle of the great Cheltenham shops. There is no view but the location is very convenient. It was lovely to be welcomed when you arrive - Sarah met us with the key & we also met the owner, Alison - it was great to be made so welcome. We have stayed previously in the Montpellier suite which is also lovely - would like to try them all. Our suite this time was at the front & there is parking in the lane behind - you just have to walk around through the churchyard next door to get to the front of the building. A lovely place!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank holiday-lover27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The apartment is nicely decorated and well-maintained, with comfortable rooms and a clean bathroom. Cooking facilities are good too (open-plan kitchen/sitting/dining room). They provide a really generous starter pack of bread, milk, croissants, juice etc. which did us for the whole stay in terms of breakfast! A slight inconvenience is the lack of parking - there is on-street parking on perpendicular streets but it fills quickly and a lot of the streets in question are painted double-yellow. However, they are open about this so as long as you know to expect it, it's fine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Silver Suite on Hewlett Road - second floor apartment. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnshuShug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at Portland Apartments and were very impressed. The apartment we were staying in was if a very high specification with everything you needed and more. Highly recommend if you are in Cheltenham. Good central location too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fraser121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Exceptionally clean, lovely decor, superbly equipped. Unless you want room service, makes a hotel suite look pretty inadequate. Will definitely stay again. And just a 2 minute walk from main shopping area, theatre and cinema. One very minor niggle - the top of the curtains in the bedroom let in a bit too much light, but otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbakery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found the Portland Apartments on the internet. The website is easy to use and the information complete and accurate. The bookingproces went smoothly. When we arrive a couple of months later in Cheltenham we where blown away. What a bilding and our suite "Montpellier" was as in the pictures in the web and more ! We immidately felt home. Everything was there to live an easy life. The kitchen is fully equiped to cook yourself a dinner. The living is cosy and homely. It is nice when you come back home after a day enjoying the surroundings to find yourself a warm place with more space than a hotelroom to relax.
Everything including garden and hallway are spotless. And the fridge is already filled with some breakfast items. There is parkingspace for the car at the rear of the bilding.

We where welcomed and get a lot of information about shops and restaurants. Once we had a fantastic dinner at The Curry Corner in walking distance of the apartment.
The city centre and shops are almost at your doorstep.

Cheltenham is a perfect place to stay and exploire the Cotswolds. 5 days was not enough so we will come back and definitely stay at the Portland again !
Price/quality is very good !

Room Tip: Montpellier Suite, but All the apartments are as beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reisverslaafde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What can I say!!! We stayed in the Battledown suite for 3 nights and cannot fault it. The location is perfect - some great shopping and restuarants a matter of minutes down the road and a great base to explore the gorgeous Cotswold villages . The apartment was ideal; gorgeous decor, lots of space with perfect finishing touches. This apartment had small patio area too. The little extras, such as bread, fresh juice, croissants and cookies just made the stay even more perfect. The kitchen was VERY well equipped so after a busy day exploring we were able to make some food and relax in the lounge area. We then started off the day with a delicious coffee using the dolce gusto coffee machine. Would definitely recommend and plan to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Apartments

Address: 43 Portland Street, Cheltenham GL52 2NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £127 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Portland apartments are a 15-minute walk from the racecourse and a 5-minute walk from the stylish shops, restaurants and bars.This elegant serviced accommodation is in the heart of Cheltenham Spa and is a home from home for the business or leisure visitor; a place to relax, work or play.The apartments are exquisitely furnished to the highest specification. All have unique, stunning features. Portland Apartments is ideal for the Cheltenham Festival or a weekend away in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Portland Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing