We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentons Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bentons Guest House
Ranked #28 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Unbelievably good value in central location & owners genuinely friendly. Everything's clean & well-appointed, food good. I asked for breakfast at 8:30, slept through to 10:30 & they still served it up. It's way better than staying in just about any hotel & a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My single room with shared bathroom was a bargain at £35 per night including breakfast. One of the cleanest budget places I've stayed and a choice of English, Spanish or continental breakfast at a time to suit. Wish I could afford to stay longer but my tent is calling!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank refinnejks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We came to stay at bentons as we had a family wedding. As soon as we arrived at the guest house to book in it was top class all the way we were very welcomed it felt more like a family home than a guest house. It was lovely the manager was so friendly & attentive. The room was very clean and lovely decorated. It was a lovely stay and to top it off breakfast was really nice the manager cooked me a Spanish omelette for breakfast which was delicious we didn't feel rushed to leave which was nice & made a change thank you for having us and we will defiantly be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieDrew2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

A fantastic family run bed and breakfast in the centre of Cheltenham. Great room with everything that you would need , brilliant value for money, nice welcome and try the Spanish breakfast for a wonderful start to the day.

Room Tip: Stayed in two bioth good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for a Christmas party in the town. The room I was given was spacious and comfortable and the facilities were perfect for what I needed. Attention to detail was evident throughout. The breakfast in the morning was hearty and well prepared. My Spanish host was friendly and clearly made an effort to make my stay enjoyable.
There was a slight mix-up over the cost of the room (I had booked through an online agent), but this was quickly and amicably resolved. It was excellent value for money.
I would definitely recommend Bentons.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stottytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Benton 's is a lovely little guest house, recently refurbished and under new management.
The rooms are very tastefully decorated, large in size and with en-suite facilities. The bed was pretty comfortable and there was minimal noise from the street.
The proprietor was helpful, friendly and both check in and out we're efficient. The breakfast was high quality.
The guest house is pretty close to the town centre and hospital ( I was down for a course) and very well situated. If I'm ever back in Cheltenham again I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed on Cheltenham Festival week. Lovely service and very nice rooms. New owners so probably one can ignore the previous comments...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attilabenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.0 mi away
Crossways Guest House
Crossways Guest House
#14 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey
The Abbey
#16 of 71 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
6 Suffolk Parade Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Townhouse
The Cheltenham Townhouse
#8 of 71 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentons Guest House

Property: Bentons Guest House
Address: 71 Bath Road, Cheltenham GL53 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located guest house offering bed and breakfast. We are a modern guest house run by a Spanish family. Cosy place to stay for convenient walking access to the heart of Cheltenham. Ideal for touring the Cotswolds. Close to Playhouse Theatre and Town Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bentons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing