We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, But Could Be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bentons Guest House
Ranked #23 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We loved the big, comfortable bed, the large room and the pleasant en-suite; we had a wonderful nights' sleep for the weekend that we were there.

However, there were issues: there is nowhere to park if you arrive by car and, if you have a disability, it is difficult to get up and down the porch steps and impossible to get to the basement dining room (or even the basement bedroom if that is what you are allocated).

On entering our room the first thing we had to do was switch off all of the heating and open the window because our room was roasting and the air was too dry.

On struggling down to the basement dining room with the help of my husband on both mornings we were brought coffee instead of our requested tea and the landlady even forgot that she'd taken out breakfast order! When our breakfast finally arrived it was greasy and largely undercooked, including half-raw fried eggs.

We spend several weekends a year in Cheltenham due to family committments, but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a disability this is not the guest house for you, unless they offer free room service th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

super friendly host,all very clean comfortable bed, central location. Cheltenham is jut in the heart of an amazing area. You really feel at home, my breakfast was waiting for me at the requested time, TV on, nice food, the perfect "good morning". the room was very clean and cosy, bathroom facilities very clean and at hand. You really feel at home. Definitely better than an hotel experience. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank info r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Unbelievably good value in central location & owners genuinely friendly. Everything's clean & well-appointed, food good. I asked for breakfast at 8:30, slept through to 10:30 & they still served it up. It's way better than staying in just about any hotel & a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My single room with shared bathroom was a bargain at £35 per night including breakfast. One of the cleanest budget places I've stayed and a choice of English, Spanish or continental breakfast at a time to suit. Wish I could afford to stay longer but my tent is calling!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank refinnejks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We came to stay at bentons as we had a family wedding. As soon as we arrived at the guest house to book in it was top class all the way we were very welcomed it felt more like a family home than a guest house. It was lovely the manager was so friendly & attentive. The room was very clean and lovely decorated. It was a lovely stay and to top it off breakfast was really nice the manager cooked me a Spanish omelette for breakfast which was delicious we didn't feel rushed to leave which was nice & made a change thank you for having us and we will defiantly be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieDrew2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A fantastic family run bed and breakfast in the centre of Cheltenham. Great room with everything that you would need , brilliant value for money, nice welcome and try the Spanish breakfast for a wonderful start to the day.

Room Tip: Stayed in two bioth good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for a Christmas party in the town. The room I was given was spacious and comfortable and the facilities were perfect for what I needed. Attention to detail was evident throughout. The breakfast in the morning was hearty and well prepared. My Spanish host was friendly and clearly made an effort to make my stay enjoyable.
There was a slight mix-up over the cost of the room (I had booked through an online agent), but this was quickly and amicably resolved. It was excellent value for money.
I would definitely recommend Bentons.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stottytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossways Guest House
Crossways Guest House
#12 of 68 in Cheltenham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Abbey
The Abbey
#13 of 68 in Cheltenham
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
one4b&b
one4b&b
#16 of 68 in Cheltenham
125 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#40 of 68 in Cheltenham
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentons Guest House

Address: 71 Bath Road, Cheltenham GL53 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £63 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located guest house offering bed and breakfast. We are a modern, cosy guest house within a convenient walking distance to the heart of Cheltenham. Ideal for touring the Cotswolds and close to the Playhouse Theatre and Town Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bentons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing