We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beaumont House
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
539
91
13
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
91
13
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica roomwhirlpool bathhonesty barthemed roomscomplimentary fruittop floorhonor barsingle roomfresh milk in the fridgeminute strollbreakfast was deliciouslittle touchesbusiness or pleasureon arrivalsmall hoteltea and coffeetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed in one of the 'double with shower' rooms in the basement of the hotel. I was a little apprehensive about this but no other rooms were available so I took a chance and I'm glad I did. The road noise was noticeable as our room overlooked a bit of the car park but it wasn't bad enough that sleep was impossible! The room had been refurbished and was clean and comfortable (bathroom quite modern) with a LCD tv on the wall and kettle etc too.
The staff were fantastic and the owners were very attentive. Breakfast was very good and we were offered a good choice of cold and cooked food.
This hotel is a good base from which to explore the Cotswolds and we would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

As we have a child boarding in Cheltenham, we will now visit frequently. We were unable to obtain a reservation where we had stayed before and a friend recommended research on Trip Advisor – new to us. Beaumont House rated highly and we made a reservation. We almost cancelled this as just before our stay I reviewed Trip Advisor and noted that there had been some recent indifferent comments about Beaumont – whilst the vats majority were very very positive. We stayed with our original plan as we were still unable to obtain a room at the Kandinski where we stayed last time – satisfied to a degree, but more expensive and not as good as the Beaumont.

Personally we were delighted with our stay and this will be our favoured hotel in Cheltenham from now on. It is 15 minutes easy walk to Montpellier. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. The bathroom in the room we stayed was immaculate [room 5 which is ensuite with whirlpool and a television in the end of the bathroom wall]. At £139 excellent value for money. My wife and I found the bed very comfortable and the owners advised us that all beds in Beaumont had been replaced during the last 2 years with Hypnos brand beds which I know are top quality. I appreciated free use of wired broadband in our room.

The breakfast both days of our stay was excellent and we are now hooked on Craster smoked salmon which they offer. We liked the lounge, although a little tired, but the idea of a complimentary bean to cup coffee machine and trust bar are very good. We asked the owners why the lounge lagged behind the rest of the hotel. Apparently their priority was to renovate all bedrooms first as this is where guests spend their time and the lounge is scheduled for redecoration early next year. Well, it is very homely as it is – my wife said leave it as it is –shabby chic? [excuse spelling]!

Just have to pick up a previous comment from a guest. We found the owners and staff extremely courteous and helpful. Town maps are provided free. Touring maps of the Cotswolds are on sale at about £2.50 I think.

This is my first contribution to Trip Advisor, but feel that now we have found the site, we will use it to locate hotels and leave feedback.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank persistenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

This B&B is off a main road in Cheltenham. The traffic is bad, and Cheltenham itself has so much traffic that it takes a half hour to get outside the city to do exploring.
The staff were not very helpful when I got there. When I asked for a map, they charged me $5.00 for one.
When I asked to cut my stay short by a day, they said they'd only allow it if someone else booked my room. Since no one did, I was forced to stay the extra day.
The room itself was very cramped.
If you are looking for a nice restful place in the Cotswolds, this is not the place to stay.

Stayed: September 2007
7  Thank Honest51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham_7, Joint Proprietor at Beaumont House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2007

On arrival, Honest 51 was disappointed with the location of Beaumont House. His expectation was that we would be situated in the countryside. We are not, we are in the town of Cheltenham. As we are a small establishment and do not overbook, we operate a 48 hour cancellation policy. Therefore if somebody wants to leave after arriving, a cancellation charge is made if we cannot relet their room for that night. Town maps are provided free of charge. Guides for drives around the Cotswolds [which this guest is referring to], are for sale at £2.50. They are also for sale in the local Government run Cheltenham Tourist Office. They are not something we obtain for free and then sell. To say that it takes 30 minutes to drive outside Cheltenham is misleading. A thirty minute drive will take you to Cirencester – 15 miles away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

The hotels that we miss the most seem to be small hotels where proud owners strive to delight their guests with new and better services. Also, the owners also are far more outgoing than we are. Our two most memorable hotels have been the Concordia Hotel in Rome and Beaumont House in Cheltenham in the Cotswolds. The care of the owners can be felt in little things such as a sea shell decorating the tray un the bathroom or home-made preserves at the breakfast table where full English breakfast, including any number of eggs cooked to order, was available. We found the croissants and fresh fruit bowl especially delicious. The breakfast room and the lounge are bathed in light and tastefully decorated. The lounge is especially comfortable for coffee after breakfast. The wait staff at both breakfasts were friendly and interesting to talk with. We still would be enthusiastic about Beaumont House even if we had not splurged and stayed in the luxurious Out of Africa room to celebrate our tenth anniversary. It had free LAN Internet access and a TV screen on the wall that we had little time to enjoy. There was always parking available in the parking lot in front of Beaumont House. Most of the other guests were Austrian students and couples, and the atmosphere always was quiet and polite. We are not surprised that Beaumont House is ranked so highly by other members. Some day we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

The initial impression was blunted by a tired and tight entry area, a sitting room for those who like to sit in tradition, and a sleeping room up two flights of stairs in the converted attic...small but serviceable. The bathroom was of a much more contemporary and expensive standard, and seemed to belong to a much higher-scaled B&B. Parking was good, and the grounds were average in size and plantings. The included breakfasts were fine and served by a staff almost too friendly and efficient for the quality of this property. They were well trained, ever-patient with cranky guests like me, and should be better compensated than they probably are.
The kitchen that prepares breakfasts could use some serious ventilation, since every morning we were greeted on the second floor with strong smells of bacon and eggs cooking away.
All in all, not a great experience, nor one very convenient to anything (we had to drive everywhere, even to the local restaurants far from the centre of town).
The owners can't do much about the location, but they could and should update the blah entry and sitting area (kudoes, however, to the honesty bar). They should also tell prospective guests that there is no elevator for those who have to struggle up two flights of stairs.

Bernard Klem, Stamford Connecticut, USA
15-17 September 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews