We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic find, attentive staff and great location”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a fantastic find, attentive staff and great location”
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed at Beaumont House for the weekend at the end of April following a visit to Highgrove Gardens. It really is a wonderful upmarket "boutique" B&B. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who were very helpful and attentive. Beautiful lounge, conservatory & garden to relax in - fresh complimentary coffee/tea available, plenty of parking, trust bar, mid-week evening meals can be ordered and an easy 15 minute walk into the centre of Cheltenham. Fantastic choice for breakfast - highly recommend the Full English! Great walking area and plenty of places to explore. Stayed on top floor in Room 8, one of the smaller rooms, but tastefully furnished and well equipped. Only gripe is that there is no window in the ensuite and if you are taller than 5ft 2" mind your head in the shower! Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, up high
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    85
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
369
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Found this venue on booking.com and checked with trip advisor. Fnd it hard to believe it's number 5 on the list of places to stay in cheltenham and not number 1. There are several areas I'd have liked to have given a 6 especially the service. Carry on the good work.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I first stayed at Beaumont House over a year ago. Although I live in London, I travel frequently to our head office in Cheltenham and over the last two years have stayed in many of the town's hotels and B&Bs. Since discovering Beaumont House I have never gone back to any of the others, as in my opinion, this establishment offers a level of quality and value that is very hard to find in the area.
I'm not sure what the owners, Alan and Fan Bishop have done before but the attention to detail in all aspects of the guest house is nigh on faultless. I would guess either or both have been involved in managing a high end hotel in the past as - although this is not one and doesn't pretend to be - the experience in staying here is a 5 star experience in its own right (I travel globally and have stayed in many places that claim to be top end and fall way short of doing the simple things well). Every part of the house is spotlessly clean and finished with quality and homely style. The food is beautifully cooked and served (the menu here is narrow but staff are very accommodating if you have particular needs) and the rooms well appointed with everything you need.
There are plenty of little value adding touches to the stay here, but I'll let you find these out for yourselves! If you are in Cheltenham and are looking for somewhere that offers great comfort, personal service, peace and quiet and perhaps most importantly a good nights sleep then look no further. Give those creaking 'luxury' hotels in town a miss and enjoy a night or two here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Browning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I only stayed for one night at Beaument House and was very pleased with my stay. There isn't much by way of services, it isn't a busy 5 star hotel, but the quality of the rooms is 5 star. They are very well furnished and tastefully decorated. The bathroom is excellent with a TV above the bath.

It is easy to find on a main road into Cheltenham and is far enough back from the street so that traffic noise is not a problem. There is ample free parking in front of the hotel and it seems fairly secure. The walk into the town centre takes about 15 minutes and passes through some nice historic areas and there are more local places to eat and drink too.

All in all, a very good find.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodJunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We arrived st the Beaumont to a very warm welcome, we were shown to our room which was very clean although a little on the small side. We found the bed and the pillows to be a bit on the hard side, but that's probably because our bed at home is much softer, we found that there was a lot of noise overhead as we were under the dining room, also the extractor in the shower room was very noisy. The breakfast was great with a variety of foods to eat, the full English is just scrummy, you will not go hungry here. The staff are very polite and very friendly, the young man that works there even offered to help us carry our bags to the car. Overall it's a good place to stay and only a few mins from bars and restaurants, we would stay there again, but in a different room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPG1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in the Out of Africa room. The location, while 15mins walk out of the centre, is actually perfect. It is in a lovely part of town and they walk in/out is most pleasant.
The staff are exceptionally good. I have never made that compliment before but they really made a difference. Breakfast was first class and the overall hotel/guesthouse experience was relaxing.
I was not too fond of the room. Not my cup of tea.. but perhaps others would like it. That is the only reason I have marked the rooms (and by relation, the value down).
Highly recommended... also near to Le Champignon Sauvage (2* Mitchelin Restaurant) and nice bars etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michealmm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Beautifully designed rooms -- we felt like we were staying in luxury but knew the price very reasonable. We stayed with our 10 month old baby in the room -- they provided a cot for a small fee. We brought our monitor and put the baby to bed in our room early, then relaxed in the common room on their gorgeous couches with a fireplace where they have a full bar and snacks (on the honor system) and loads of magazines to page through. The full English breakfast in the morning was wonderful as well. If we had more time, I'm sure we would have spent the morning in their conservatory or back garden, which were also beautiful. We were traveling with my parents and sister-in-law who also loved their rooms and this hotel overall.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sullyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing