We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, cosy and very comfortable”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Small, cosy and very comfortable”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Helpful and lovely staff, we were greeted by the courteous owners as well.
We had a modern and well equipped double bedroom on the first floor with pretty view on the country side, I had ordered champagne upon arrival and it perfectly set up the scene for all our stay. Chocolate in the room was real black and tasteful, we enjoyed breakfast too.
Really a lovely address.
As it seems to be a little bit of traffic on the road in front of the house, I would recommend the rooms on the country side like ours which were definitely quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdliinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    81
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
64
354
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Usually a slave to the corporate hotels I took a chance and booked this boutique hotel the night before. I booked a luxury room, themed Out of Africa.

On arrival I was greeted by the owner who was very courteous, helpful and welcoming. I couldn't help but sit down and enjoy a glass of wine in the beautiful lounge in front of a fire before going up to my room for the night.

My room was quirky, luxurious and extremely comfortable. Room service was wonderful infact I was suprised how high a standard the food was. Delicious. I appreciated the little extras my room provided such as robe, chocolates and fruit. Spa bath was indulgent and the whole feel of the room was of a high standard. Plenty of lighting too which as a woman is very welcome.

Breakfast was excellent, quick service and the staff were so polite and helpful. Can't wait to return and try the Asian room!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_Devon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at Beaumont House three years ago (before I started writing reviews) and enjoyed the experience so much that we vowed to return. Previously we had stayed in a room on an upper floor and everything was first class and I would have given a five star report. This time, however, we were allocated a room on the lower ground floor and it was not so good. The room was slightly too small and the en-suite shower room was miniscule. There was no view from the window, just a screen of shrubs about three feet from the window.

Everything else was just as good as before - the staff are great, the breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are roomier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mentorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We found ourselves with an unexpected couple of child- free days, so decided to book tickets to the (recently refurbished) Everyman Theatre in Cheltenham (also recommended). I made a fairly late 2- night booking at Beaumont House. I am pretty fussy as I want it to be a treat, not just somewhere to stay! I would say that Beaumont House goes the extra mile to make sure that you are looked after and have a pleasurable stay; Everything was perfect in a discreet, non- showy way and we thoroughly enjoyed our mini break.

Room Tip: We were given a free upgrade without asking, this was greatly appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHCYEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We took my mother in law to the Beaumont House hotel for her birthday - and we are SO pleased we did. From start to finish of our three night stay, the service and experience they gave us was perfect.

On check in we were greeted eagerly at the door, where we were checked in seamlessly. We were also asked what we planned to do over the duration and given lots of recommendations. Before we knew it, someone else appeared to take our bags to our rooms for us. This excellent level of service was continued throughout.

The rooms we very nice. We had a room on the lower ground floor, which was relatively small, but had everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean. My mother in law had a single room on the first floor, which was much bigger than ours and also had a full size fridge, a microwave and a small kitchen area. The only downside to e rooms was our one got very warm and it was difficult to cool it down.

The breakfast was excellent. You have a choice of full cooked breakfast, breakfast sandwiches and smoked salmon. To be honest I think you could probably ask for anything and they would do their best to accommodate. There was also the options of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals and pastries.

The location is about fifteen minutes gentle walk to the town centre.

This place really is excellent and we highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are a bit cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-and-LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Beaumont House is a lovely building , rooms are well equipped and each has its own theme . The staff are helpful , friendly and hard working . The room I stayed in was spotless . The lounge area is great to relax in after breakfast and read the paper , provided by the hotel , or in the evening have a quiet drink .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacosteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I was looking for somewhere to stay for one night en route to Cardiff to meet up with family. I chose Beaumont House based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The house is very impressive as you pull up into the car park. Once inside it was absolutely gorgeous. The young man that checked us in was most helpful, he showed us the guest lounge, the conservatory and explained that coffee and biscuits were complimentary and to help ourselves at any time. He took us up to our room which was on the top floor and even helped with the lugagge. The room was a bit small but had everything you could need. There was a window but too high up in the eaves to see out of. The same young man gave us a map of the area and a brochure with places to eat and even checked out a few restaurants to make sure they were open on a Sunday evening. When we got back to the room after our walk into town which was furher than anticipated, the bed had been turned down, lamps had been lit and a chocolate left on the pillow. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our room was at the front and we thought there might be road noise that would keep us awake but not so, we slept very well. The fridge in our room was well stocked even down to a tiny bottle of fresh milk. There was an honesty bar in the lounge too that was very well stocked. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. All the staff were attentive and helpful, the house itself is amazing and we would definitely return and hopefully be able to stay longer.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, the rooms at the top at the front are not for you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing