We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay on Business or Leisure”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #4 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay on Business or Leisure”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have been staying at The Beaumont on business for about three months. It really is a fantastic building, with great rooms, excellent car parking and first class personal service. It is situated very close a good selection of places to eat and drink although you can order really good food in your room. It is also walking distance to Cheltenham town centre.

Calling The Beaumont a B&B really does understate the level of quality of both rooms, food and service. The breakfasts are cooked to order and again are first class.

I would highly recommend for business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolms_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    85
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
65
364
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our recent stay here on the weekend was notable for the attention to small details in the service and the hotel itself. The lounge and conservatory are lovely; the tea service and honor bar in the room helpful and very reasonable. We had a twin room on the top floor; slept like a stone and loved the luxurious en-suite bath. The owners are very helpful as was Helen. If heading to Cheltenham I would strongly recommend Beaumont House!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Helpful and lovely staff, we were greeted by the courteous owners as well.
We had a modern and well equipped double bedroom on the first floor with pretty view on the country side, I had ordered champagne upon arrival and it perfectly set up the scene for all our stay. Chocolate in the room was real black and tasteful, we enjoyed breakfast too.
Really a lovely address.
As it seems to be a little bit of traffic on the road in front of the house, I would recommend the rooms on the country side like ours which were definitely quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdliinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Usually a slave to the corporate hotels I took a chance and booked this boutique hotel the night before. I booked a luxury room, themed Out of Africa.

On arrival I was greeted by the owner who was very courteous, helpful and welcoming. I couldn't help but sit down and enjoy a glass of wine in the beautiful lounge in front of a fire before going up to my room for the night.

My room was quirky, luxurious and extremely comfortable. Room service was wonderful infact I was suprised how high a standard the food was. Delicious. I appreciated the little extras my room provided such as robe, chocolates and fruit. Spa bath was indulgent and the whole feel of the room was of a high standard. Plenty of lighting too which as a woman is very welcome.

Breakfast was excellent, quick service and the staff were so polite and helpful. Can't wait to return and try the Asian room!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_Devon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at Beaumont House three years ago (before I started writing reviews) and enjoyed the experience so much that we vowed to return. Previously we had stayed in a room on an upper floor and everything was first class and I would have given a five star report. This time, however, we were allocated a room on the lower ground floor and it was not so good. The room was slightly too small and the en-suite shower room was miniscule. There was no view from the window, just a screen of shrubs about three feet from the window.

Everything else was just as good as before - the staff are great, the breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are roomier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mentorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We found ourselves with an unexpected couple of child- free days, so decided to book tickets to the (recently refurbished) Everyman Theatre in Cheltenham (also recommended). I made a fairly late 2- night booking at Beaumont House. I am pretty fussy as I want it to be a treat, not just somewhere to stay! I would say that Beaumont House goes the extra mile to make sure that you are looked after and have a pleasurable stay; Everything was perfect in a discreet, non- showy way and we thoroughly enjoyed our mini break.

Room Tip: We were given a free upgrade without asking, this was greatly appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHCYEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We took my mother in law to the Beaumont House hotel for her birthday - and we are SO pleased we did. From start to finish of our three night stay, the service and experience they gave us was perfect.

On check in we were greeted eagerly at the door, where we were checked in seamlessly. We were also asked what we planned to do over the duration and given lots of recommendations. Before we knew it, someone else appeared to take our bags to our rooms for us. This excellent level of service was continued throughout.

The rooms we very nice. We had a room on the lower ground floor, which was relatively small, but had everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean. My mother in law had a single room on the first floor, which was much bigger than ours and also had a full size fridge, a microwave and a small kitchen area. The only downside to e rooms was our one got very warm and it was difficult to cool it down.

The breakfast was excellent. You have a choice of full cooked breakfast, breakfast sandwiches and smoked salmon. To be honest I think you could probably ask for anything and they would do their best to accommodate. There was also the options of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals and pastries.

The location is about fifteen minutes gentle walk to the town centre.

This place really is excellent and we highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are a bit cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-and-LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing