We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Booked in for a two night stay to celebrate twenty years of marriage
A beautiful family run hotel with excellent service from the off
Attentive staff where nothing was too much trouble... Room's were to a high standard with fresh fruit chocolates and bottled water- there was even real milk in the fridge
Breakfast was great with a wide variety of choices from smoked salmon to full English

Highly recommended- cant wait to return...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shutz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    81
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
64
354
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YORK, UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed in this very stylish and tastefully decorated hotel in Nov 2012. The welcome was lovely, the breakfasts were lovely and the rooms were lovely ... the only downside being that the walls were paper thin as we found out that evening unable to do anything but listen to the rather loved up couple next door ... until 2am! Went home feeling shattered!

Room Tip: Don't have a lower ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHEL70H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauchelt, Owner at Beaumont House, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Rachel, we have now been able to contact you privately and have been able to identify the room that you stayed in. We are really sorry that you were disturbed during the night. Since purchasing Beaumont House we have invested £500k plus in improvements. We were upset to discover that specified acoustic insulation had not been provided in some areas [during major renovation works]. This we only discovered when removing new partition walls. We thought that we had solved all areas but accept the room that you stayed in was still a problem. We are in the process of appointing a contractor to complete the required works on an urgent basis. It may sound patronising, but we really do want our guests to leave happy. We look forward to your return visit, that is if you will give us a second chance? With best wishes, Alan Bishop [Joint Proprietor]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We selected this hotel by chance on the internet and we now highly recommend to anybody wanting to visit the Cotswolds. The owner of the property greeted us upon entering the hotel and took time to explain facilities and area. We were taken to our room by the owner and shown the room to check if all ok. We were helped with our luggage much appreciated as I have a slight disability. Slept well and then had the best english breakfast I have ever had in my many trips to England. Peter K .Australia

Room Tip: All above standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 589PeterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We liked this place so much a few years ago, when we had to visit Cheltenham again we booked Beaumont House. Still as elegant and friendly as we remembered. We had a very small room, but it was most comfortable and had almost every facility you could possibly need. We stayed two nights and would recommend it to anyone. Breakfasts were good, excellent service, with the possible exception of (we suspect) microwaved scrambled eggs - a pet hate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill and Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauchelt, Owner at Beaumont House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for your positive review about Beaumont House. Please be assured scrambled eggs are prepared in the traditional way – in a pan with butter. Fortunately we have two excellent Breakfast Chefs who have several years service with Beaumont House between them. If we were guilty, we would hold our hands up - promise! I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Beaumont House in the future, kind regards, Alan Bishop [Proprietor]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Great hospitality and helpfulness. The guest is given pride of place in a framework of safety / well-being. The Beaumont House holds in all areas a very detailed high standard. Try it, and do yourself a favour.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krogh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed over at Beaumont house for one night at Easter and was the stay perfect. I am quite fussy with hotels as a frequent traveller but I could not fault one thing here. The staff was welcoming and very helpful with tips and maps; the room was spacious, modern, clean and extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent - having an egg allergy I can hardly ever eat anything, but the home made porridge was quality and so the toast. My boyfriend was ever so excited as he got a "starter" for the first time in his life at breakfast (smaller portion of porridge) while then tucking into a gargantuan portion of salmon and eggs.

Have already recommended it to my friends and will most certainly stay again if in the area.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMiceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We recently overnighted at the Beaumont and were delighted.
The room was excellent, plenty of space and well appointed.
Our welcome was delightful and we shown around the place.
Free coffee was available in the conservatory and there were the days papers for reading.
In the morning we had one of the best breakfasts we have ever had.
I had a traditional English, whilst my wife had a smoked haddock and poached egg. Wow what a large piece of haddock.

The attention given to details here puts other establishments to shame.

It is a delightful place to stay, well placed to visit the sites of Cheltenham...only 10 minute walk away.

Just in case you are wondering why I've not given it 5 stars ... so far I believe I've never given this rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encodeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing