We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for i night on Tuesday 30th July as a birthday treat. We had the 'Out of Africa 'room which was really delightful with a lovely spa bath and view of the garden. There were chocolates and fruit in the room which was spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed.
The staff could not have been more friendly and gave us a great welcome. Free coffee during the day in the conservatory and free wifi was a bonus.Breakfast was great as well. The staff and hotel are first class. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed one night in the Out of Africa room which is a decidedly unusual, but we both enjoyed enormously. Lovely room and the staff we met were both courteous and very friendly. Plenty of parking and only a 10 minute stroll into the town, makes it a convenient location.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at beaumont house. It's Cheltenham's hidden gem. Both times we have stayed it hasn't been in one of the themed rooms but the normal rooms are of such exceptional quality I don't feel we have missed out. All the staff are brilliant and a pleasure to speak to. They couldn't be more helpful. As we stayed for our anniversary they had laid the bed with towels in the shape of swans with some special chocolates free of charge. It's these little extras that make you feel truly appreciated and a valued guest. The location is within walking distance of the centre of Cheltenham, about 15 minutes. Due to this it is lovely and peaceful, with a beautiful garden you can relax in. The breakfasts are of the highest quality and there is a great range of choice to suit all tastes. I would highly recommend staying at Beaumont house.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I booked the Out of Africa suite as a surprise for a night away for my husbands birthday- what a fabulous little hotel this is- we were greeted on arrival by a very welcoming receptionist who showed us round the hotel before bringing us to our room and what a stunning room it was - my other half was truly impressed with the beautiful and unusual decor and all the amenities the room has to offer such as the mini bar etc- the fruit and chocolates are a lovely touch too
After enjoying a drink in the hotel we took a taxi into the centre of Cheltenham - its only a couple of minutes by cab and cost about £6 each way - we prefer to stay out of the centre of town as parking can be problematic in many of the towns hotels- car parking at the Beaumont is easy with a spacious off road car park- a big plus for us.
After a great nights sleep we breakfasted like kings - all menu choices were freshly prepared to a very high standard and served in the light airy dining room by cheerful professional staff.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff in this lovely hotel and we cant wait to return and try the Out of Asia room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice now. Once in the Out of Africa room and once in the Out of Asia room. Both rooms are beautifully decorated with stunning bathrooms, Jacuzzi baths etc. I think my favourite would be the Out of Africa room as it is at the back of the hotel and overlooks the gardens and is slightly larger. However the bathroom in the Out of Asia room is nicer I think. No detail is overlooked in this hotel, they think of everything and nothing is too much trouble. Fan, the lady of the house is the perfect hostess and is so thoughtful and kind. She found out it was my birthday while we were having breakfast one morning and when we returned to our room she had been and left a lovely present for me. The next time we went, it was my birthday again, my husband had already told her when booking our room and this time we were treated to a lovely bottle of Prosecco in our room before we went to dinner. Speaking of the breakfast, they are fantastic with everything cooked to order from Smoked haddock and poached egg, scrambled egg and smoked salmon to the full English of course. The house and gardens are beautiful. In the conservatory there is a coffee maker which makes cappuccinos, lattes etc. which you can help yourself to free of charge (you can also make tea of course) there are also thoughtful touches like biscuits, books, games etc. you can borrow. I believe you can also have an evening meal during the week, by arrangement. We have not tried out the honesty bar in the lounge as we always go out for the evening. We can thoroughly recommend the Daffodil restaurant which is about a 15 minute walk from Beaumont House. This is the one down side about the Beaumont, it is a bit of a hike to the centre if you are walking although there are some restaurants, bars etc. closer to the hotel. It is still our hotel of choice in Cheltenham though, simply because of the fantastic service and thoughtful extra touches. Yes, it is a little more expensive than most B&Bs but you get what you pay for and more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just stayed here for a night and what a beautiful hotel. Staff were so welcoming and friendly and any request you asked was no problem. Fran is a lovely woman willing to help with anything, even when busy preparing food she still took the time to help me choose a restaurant and book it for me along with a taxi. Rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Will def be returning :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joharris1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Having just returned from this hotel for our wedding anniversary we are compelled to try and say just how good this little hotel really is. We arrived on friday afternoon to be greeted by a cheerful receptionist who knew who we were and showed us around the hotel before showing us up to our room (the out of asia room). The room was perfect with chocolates and fresh fruit and bottled water all complimentary. The room was a lovely size with a very comfy bed with incredible egyptian cotton sheets, the whirlpool bath was fantastic. Our room was overlooking the main road but it never gave us any real noise with the window wide open as you might think.
The receptionist gave us a little map of the town and pointed us towards the short cut into town down a tree lined residential street, we were there within a 15 minute stroll to the first bar!
The breakfasts are freshly cooked and all local sausages, eggs and bacon fabulous.
All in all we were very well looked after by Fan and her team who were always happy and ready to help.
A very friendly personal service that i dont think you would get from a chain hotel.
I think there are more than likely cheaper B and B hotels but the quality shines through.

Room Tip: Book the out of Asia or out of Africa rooms for an extra special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
1.6 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £93 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing