We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We had travelled through Cornwall and Devon for a week and the last night we headed back and ended up in Beaumont House wondering what on earth the 'out of Africa' room would be like. First of all, it really is impressive looking but it's also spacious and soooo comfortable. The huge bed was the best sleep I have had in a week, especially compared to some of the over priced rooms (over £200 per night) we had stayed in. The spa bath and salts were relaxing and most welcome after the rubbish winding roads from Devon. I then walked downstairs into the lounge in my socks (owner seemed to be very happy when I asked if it was ok to be in my socks). Then happily poured myself a whisky from the honesty bar and relaxed in their huge lounge whilst relaxing music played in the background. At that point my partner reminded me that she was there too and could do with some conversation but still I had a smile on my face. In fact it was so good, we decided to stay one more night in the loft room and go to work early (2.5 hour drive again). Over 2 nights we have fallen completely for this little boutique hotel and Cheltenham. We also loved the fact the owners and staff were always at hand and so friendly with a
passion for high standards and quality products, breakfast was a real treat too. Definitely a place not to be missed - we will be returning!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PGypps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    85
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
369
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Out Of Asia room . It was superb in every way . Comfortable bed , quality sheets , soft towels , tea and coffee making facilities , very clean .
Service was excellent , friendly and helpful,breakfast varied and delicious .
This family run hotel lives up to all the positive remarks on this website.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7379selsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Beaumont 6th to 9th of August with our two grandchildred in room 7 the hotel was everything we could wish for and more it was spotlessly clean, breakfast was excellent the staff could not be more helpful,we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spent two nights here at this wonderful relaxed friendly house. Cannot fault anything, room was large and spotlessly clean with a huge so, so comfy bed, and great shower. Breakfast was good and staff are friendly, attentive and helpful. Located in a great position for town, with so many restaurants and bars to choose from. (Highly recommend The Daffodil restaurant)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83flutterbybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This place is every bit as good as previous reviews suggest. The staff are attentive, professional and very friendly and the hotel is maintained to an extremely high standard. My Mum and I stayed in the 'luxury twin' on the first floor and appreciated the many extra touches - for example, a fan was provided which was very welcome in the hot weather; fresh fruit and mineral water were replenished daily. Watching TV while enjoying a jacuzzi bath was a real treat, too! Truly exceptional - the only place we have ever stayed which has exceeded our (fussy) expectations. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for i night on Tuesday 30th July as a birthday treat. We had the 'Out of Africa 'room which was really delightful with a lovely spa bath and view of the garden. There were chocolates and fruit in the room which was spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed.
The staff could not have been more friendly and gave us a great welcome. Free coffee during the day in the conservatory and free wifi was a bonus.Breakfast was great as well. The staff and hotel are first class. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Out of Africa room which is a decidedly unusual, but we both enjoyed enormously. Lovely room and the staff we met were both courteous and very friendly. Plenty of parking and only a 10 minute stroll into the town, makes it a convenient location.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing