We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastically relaxing stay”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Beaumont House Hall. It's located near to the Suffolks and the Montpellier area of Cheltenham (where there are good bars and restaurants).

The hotel itself has all the facilities one requires to have a relaxing stay (with a large lounge and a seperate sun-lounge with coffee and tea facilities). We stayed in one of the Garden rooms, and it was well proportioned and has new bathrooms and flat screen TVs etc. It was exactly what was needed and the bed was comfortable.

We found both the owners and their staff to be very helpful in answering any questions or queries. Also the breakfast provided ample choice and was of a very high quality.

When we go back to Cheltenham, we would definitely stay at the Beaumont Hall House again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MattALeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Beaumont House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2008

Carla and Andreas, Germany, June 2008

We enjoy our "17 day" holiday staying very much in this beautiful and charming hotel and will be back next year. It has nice rooms which are very luxery and charmful furnished. The staff is very kind and attentive.
Furthermore it is a good starting point to visit the Cotswolds and surrounding cities and villages.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

This place is pure luxury and at such a reasonable price. I booked this for my other half's birthday just for a couple of days getaway and this place really helps in terms of relaxation.

We were arriving quite late and I rang to let the hotel know and they kept the reception open a little later for us. When I enquired as to whether we would be able to still arrange to have breakfast brought to our room the next morning the lady arranged this even though we were and hour and a hlaf over the deadline - having breakfast in your room is just £5 extra and it is wonderful.

We were in a double room with bath and shower and the only thing I would say is that if you are very tall you might want to consider not staying in a top flight room as some of the ceilings slop - particularly in the bathroom. The bathrooms and really really well decorated and the bedrooms are both comfortable and well equipped. We were provided with lots of local information, an extremely reasonable mini bar as well as a trust bar in the main lounge.

I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Loola30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Beaumont House Hotel on May 9-10. This is a well kept house that has been carefully and thoughtfully upgraded. I recommend it for people arriving by car since it is quite a walk to get to the center of Cheltenham and their large private car park (free) is a plus. The staff is very friendly and helpful which makes a great first impression. The rooms are on the small side and adequately furnished. The beds are great with quality crisp linens. The rooms also have a modern super clean ensuite bathroom which was good sized. No air conditioning and just a small portable fan that doesn't really help, so I would take heed should you plan to stay on a hot summer night (which are probably rare in England anyway!). The breakfast is bountiful, and is similar to what you would expect to see in a 5 star hotel in London. Nothing particularly new or different, though, although the scrambled eggs and salmon were excellent. The common library room on the main floor is a nice place to relax and there is always free tea and coffee and an "honor bar" for label liquors. In summary, a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Steven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel as part of celebrating being together for a month. My girlfriend found the hotel using various webiste on the internet and we decided to go and try it out based on the fantastic reviews from Tripadvisor.

Arriving at just before 2pm we were greeting by the landlady and an assistant. The landlady quickly checked us in and showed us around whilst her assistant went to see if the room was ready. I thought this was a nice touch, as the room was clearly ready but she just went to do a quick quality check.

Our room (8) I think was at the back of the building facing the back gardens which are quite pleasant in sunny weather. i would avoid a room at the front as during the day the main road the hotel is set on is quite busy.

There was plenty of parking spaces and even two set aside for disabled parking which indicates why this bed and breakfast is 5 star accredited by the AA.

Our room was clean and beautifully laid out with a flat screen plasma TV on the wall. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed. Make sure to mind your head if in this room as the room is at the top of the building and the ceilings are slanted. The bathroom had a fantastic shower and was complimented with very nice Gilchrist and Soames toilletries products which to the discerned traveller who knows his top hotels, would be a welcome treat.

All in all, a fantastic little hotel. It was so good we didnt even venture out of the room except for dinner!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rehan07860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

I found them very friendly and welcoming, but the location was a taxi ride away from the main area of Cheltenham called Montpellier. (it looks closer on their map!)

The rooms were comfortable, but we had noisy neighbours and you could hear the television through the wall.

The breakfast was fresh and well served.

I am not sure I would stay again just because of the location.

Stayed: December 2007
5  Thank LondonDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We spent 6 nights @ the Beaumont House as a base to visit the various towns in the Cotswolds. We can say, without exception, that this was the best overall accomodation experience in the 7 trips we have made to England. The staff was excellent in every respect and were allways willing to help. The common facilities were always clean and neat ,and our room (double ensuite) was very comfortable (and quiet). You could order a variety of items for breakfast (included in the fare) and all was prepared to order; an excellent way to start off the day. Alan and Fan, the owners were ever present to attend to your needs or to give recommendations for restaurants, etc. One touch I found to be somewhat out of the ordinary was the automatic coffee machine in the large parlor room where you could, by the push of a button, make youself a latte or cappucino (free to guests). There was also a well stocked honor bar in the parlor where one could find a variety of spirits, beer and wine. Oh, and we never had a problem finding a spot in their large carpark area. Overall, we felt that the owners and staff took a great deal of pride in the hotel and we always felt well attended to by their sincere efforts.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JIMBRAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £81 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing