We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staff were fantastic, helpful and friendly, we felt at home - couldn't fault them or the establishment. Excellent parking and extra little bits that make all of the difference. We chose it because our son has just moved very close by and will definitely be returning. The breakfast was outstanding with excellent produce and attention.
Beautiful garden, lounge and conservatory for beverages. It has a trust bar, which we didn't have time to use but a great touch.

Room Tip: we had a standard room but that was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Due to previous excellent reviews we booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at this guest house for 4 persons and were not disappointed.
The proprietors and staff are extremely friendly and made us feel very much at home.
The rooms are excellent and the main lounge is tastefully decorated and exudes a relaxing atmosphere.
The breakfast was very tasty and catered for all our differing tastes and set us up nicely for the day.
The hotel is a leisurely 10-15 minutes walk from the Montpellier area of Cheltenham with its various restaurants and bars and a further 5 minutes from the town centre.
We cannot recommend this guest house high enough for anyone wanting a wonderful relaxing break in tasteful and welcoming surroundings.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Eirian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great night away in the Out of Asia room, we'd definitely return to try the Out of Africa. You can hear the traffic from the front of the hotel but that didnt bother us. Breakfast was tasty with a nice range. Lovely staff and friendly service, all the little touches make such a difference.Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Cannot recommend this guest house enough. Booked on Thursday night for a last minute weekend break. Could not fault rooms, very helpful and pleasant staff and excellent breakfast. Little details such as sourcing local bacon, sausage and eggs makes the Beaumont House stand out from other guest houses.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellyboot1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October for our two yr anniversary, we had initially booked the Belfry in Oxford, and it was so shocking we left, we were left with no where to stay for a romantic weekend, I looked on booking.com and the Beaumont looked good, it was so last minute we didn't know if they would have availability, we booked one of the India themed rooms and although we were going to be arriving in 45minutes, the staff were helpful and said they would have the room ready. We arrived and after the shambles of the Belfry this place was beautiful, the room were immaculate and the decor was amazing. The staff were really helpful and the lounge area was really nice. The breakfast the next day was great. If we are in Cheltenham again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAX74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here for a night away in February. After a wonderfully warm welcome we were shown to our room. The room was well equipped and beautifully decorated. We were informed of the award winning breakfast times and complimentary cheese and wine evening that night too. The facilities were excellent, breakfast divine, and staff very considerate and attentive. We will not hestitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at this boutique hotel.
Very clean facilities and very helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. Will definitely recommend and always stay here when visiting Cheltenham . Thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £89 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing