We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during a visit to Cheltenham. Exceptional service, and a high spec room (Hillview) combined with a beautifully fitted and spotless bathroom ensured we had a great stay. A great lounge with well stocked honesty bar ensured we will be sure to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartinBridget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    81
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
348
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked this hotel at short notice and was really accommodating, friendly hotel, couldnt do enough for us. We are definitely going to stay here again. The staff were warm and friendly and very discrete....well done everyone

Room Tip: variety of rooms to suit whatever you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mravjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great house, family run with many personal touches. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Rooms including lounge, dining room and conservatory are all fabulous. Would definitely return and recommend to others. Much nicer than a boring chain hotel!

Room Tip: We had a regular room at the front of the house and didn't find traffic noise a problem even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz_haynes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staff were fantastic, helpful and friendly, we felt at home - couldn't fault them or the establishment. Excellent parking and extra little bits that make all of the difference. We chose it because our son has just moved very close by and will definitely be returning. The breakfast was outstanding with excellent produce and attention.
Beautiful garden, lounge and conservatory for beverages. It has a trust bar, which we didn't have time to use but a great touch.

Room Tip: we had a standard room but that was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Due to previous excellent reviews we booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at this guest house for 4 persons and were not disappointed.
The proprietors and staff are extremely friendly and made us feel very much at home.
The rooms are excellent and the main lounge is tastefully decorated and exudes a relaxing atmosphere.
The breakfast was very tasty and catered for all our differing tastes and set us up nicely for the day.
The hotel is a leisurely 10-15 minutes walk from the Montpellier area of Cheltenham with its various restaurants and bars and a further 5 minutes from the town centre.
We cannot recommend this guest house high enough for anyone wanting a wonderful relaxing break in tasteful and welcoming surroundings.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eirian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great night away in the Out of Asia room, we'd definitely return to try the Out of Africa. You can hear the traffic from the front of the hotel but that didnt bother us. Breakfast was tasty with a nice range. Lovely staff and friendly service, all the little touches make such a difference.Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Cannot recommend this guest house enough. Booked on Thursday night for a last minute weekend break. Could not fault rooms, very helpful and pleasant staff and excellent breakfast. Little details such as sourcing local bacon, sausage and eggs makes the Beaumont House stand out from other guest houses.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellyboot1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing