We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I booked this holiday for my sister and her husband to celebrate her 60th Birthday. What a fantastic time they had, they were thrilled. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and their staff and the fine attention to detail was outstanding even a balloon in the room sat in the middle of two beautiful swan towels on arrival. It made their stay very special.
The guest house was immaculate and the breakfast superb! I cannot thank the Beaumont enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    85
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
65
363
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for one night for business purposes. Nice clean room, extremely courteous and helpful staff, and a great breakfast selection. Nice lounge with free tea and coffee available too. No complaints whatsoever and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSR_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I was having a mooch for a hotel for a weekend break and came across Beaumont House - Cheltenham's 5 star boutique guest house.
On arrival I was impressed as the cab pulled up at the front steps of this beautiful house.
There is ample car parking here and its FREE for all guests.
I was greeted at the door by a lovely member of staff who showed me in. Once checked in I was given a personal tour of the guest house.
1. The Guest Lounge - beautiful with an honesty bar for you to help yourself to, leave a note of what you have had and pay at check out.
*There was a real fire place in this room which as we returned on the evening was lit. The lounge was lovely and cosey.
2. The Garden Dining Room was set out ready for breakfast the following morning with a lovely view of the landscaped garden.
3. The conservatory again also over looking the garden there was a drinks machine with complimentary coffee, expresso, capuccino, latte, speciality teas and biscuits.

We then went up the stairs to the first floor where she showed me to my room.
4. I had the Prestbury Suite - a large double room with ensuite whirlpool bath, overhead shower and bathroom tv.
I was like wow, it was gorgeous. As well as the tea and coffee in the room there were flowers, fresh fruit, luxury chocolates and a mini bar. I loved the large windows of this Georgian house, great to sit and look out on your surroundings.
The bed was huge! Loved it!

It is just a 25 minute walk to the grand Montpellier Arcade. There are some gorgeous shops, bars and restaurants here, walk a little further along the promanade to the centre of the town and enjoy.

After a relaxing whirlpool bath that evening I had a wonderful nights sleep on this Hypnos mattress. Woke up looking forward to breakfast.

The superb hospitality of the continued as we were shown to our table looking over the garden.
All produce are locally sourced and cooked fresh to order. I had fresh fruit salad and yoghurt from the buffet followed by haddock and poached eggs Mmmmmm .. gorgeous. Made a lovely change and set me up for the day. My friend enjoyed the had a full english.
Freshly squeezed orange juice was available, teas & coffees served to your table.
Fabulous breakfast!
The staff ensured everything was to your satisfaction all the way through.
So wonderful to experience!

Now I know there were 2 themed rooms here and I was able to have a look in them.
Out of Africa and Out of Asia are definately worth booking if you are after a special treat.
Have a look at the website www.bhhotel.co.uk

So - Fan & Alan Bishop I would like to thank you and your wonderful staff for making our stay so marvellous -
Really enjoyed it and hope to be back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauchelt, Owner at Beaumont House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your very positive and detailed review about Beaumont House. We do not usually respond to glowing reviews as we honestly do not want to be patronising. We do appreciate feedback on Trip Advisor - it is not ignored. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and a copy of your very detailed feedback has been made available to our Team. They really do appreciate your thanks. Kind regards, Alan [and Fan] Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during a visit to Cheltenham. Exceptional service, and a high spec room (Hillview) combined with a beautifully fitted and spotless bathroom ensured we had a great stay. A great lounge with well stocked honesty bar ensured we will be sure to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartinBridget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked this hotel at short notice and was really accommodating, friendly hotel, couldnt do enough for us. We are definitely going to stay here again. The staff were warm and friendly and very discrete....well done everyone

Room Tip: variety of rooms to suit whatever you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mravjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great house, family run with many personal touches. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Rooms including lounge, dining room and conservatory are all fabulous. Would definitely return and recommend to others. Much nicer than a boring chain hotel!

Room Tip: We had a regular room at the front of the house and didn't find traffic noise a problem even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz_haynes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staff were fantastic, helpful and friendly, we felt at home - couldn't fault them or the establishment. Excellent parking and extra little bits that make all of the difference. We chose it because our son has just moved very close by and will definitely be returning. The breakfast was outstanding with excellent produce and attention.
Beautiful garden, lounge and conservatory for beverages. It has a trust bar, which we didn't have time to use but a great touch.

Room Tip: we had a standard room but that was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
963 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing