We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique hotel”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #2 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

an absolute gem of a hotel. small, quiet but full of it's own character. well decorated to a very high standard. friendly staff who were very helpful and a breakfast that was amazing.
my husband booked me a surprise stay in the out of africa room. querky but at the same time brilliant. whirpool bath and a spacious room to boot. he purchased little extras like champagne and chocolates and they were brought to the room within minutes of being shown up to the room.
excellent stay. we will definitely be going back. Thanks Fan and Alan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Took partner for birthday treat. Booked Out of Africa room did not know what to expect. On arrival in the middle of a massive thunder storm greeted by the owner who was absolutely charming ,showed to room which was stunning I have stayed at themed hotels in the past but this was quite different and genuine but also luxurious whith a fabulous bathroom. Very clean and breakfast rounded off a great stay really recommend a stay.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a theme book either out of Africa or out of asia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A lot of thought and attention to detail has obviously gone into this impressively-converted detached house, which is full of light & stylishly decorated throughout. The owners & staff keep very high standards without being stuffy, and everyone is friendly and attentive - nothing was too much trouble. We looked forward to breakfast every morning, and the reading room/conservatory are lovely to relax in if you have a spare hour or so. Handy for central Cheltenham and great to come back to after a hard day's walking in the Cotswolds (ps Cleeve Hill is worth the climb for incredible views over the town and beyond).

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very nice hotel, with excellent service and very comfortable lounges and bedrooms. Rooms a little small, and a bit of noise from neighbouring rooms, mainly taps running..but not too bad. Staff were very helpful and food was excellent - particularly breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnysailorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for one night recently, it's a superb old Cheltenham house, operating as a high-class guest house; it's not really a hotel. Friendly welcome on arrival. Room very stylish, excellent bathroom. Breakfast excellent. The whole place is beautifully set out. Unlike our American friends I don't expect to find a lift in a two storey Georgian townhouse.

For me the only downside (and misses 5 blobs for it) was road noise coupled with heat - I had an attic room, it was so hot I needed the window open, but the road noise so bad I couldn't sleep. Owners very apologetic and comped me, but if I was to stay again i'd insist on a room at the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night.Room was lovely with everything you could want. Lovely shower. Beds really comfortable. A real gem. The gardens were lovely to relax in and the staff were very helpful. With tea and coffee in the conservatory all day and honesty bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisB1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Delightful Georgian property in Cheltenham with lovely features such as an honesty bar and tea and coffee on tap.

Service was superb. Warm, friendly and very helpful. I only wish we had more time to relax in the lounge and really unwind. I guess we will have to return.

Ideal position for a short walk into Town although like us you probably won't make it that far as the local amenities are good enough to tempt you to stay put within a few hundred metres.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
416 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#4 of 69 in Cheltenham
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £84 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing