We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday active weekend”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #5 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Beaumont were able to accommodate us at short notice and from the start of our trip they were helpful, courteous and welcoming to their hotel. We were a group of eight going cycling and walking in the Cotswolds and at the end of the day it was an absolute pleasure to go back there to freshen up and go out for a celebration meal. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and welcoming and would go to great lengths to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were fabulous, with all the comforts you would expect and more. The breakfast was full of choice served by cheerful staff, which always makes a difference. The restaurants in the area served great food which we went to on the advice of the manager. I would definitely recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed. We had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a double room on 2nd floor, which was great - very clean, plenty of space, beds were very comfy & all the little niceties that you would expect from this class of hotel were provided. Staff, particularly the owner, Fan, were very friendly & attentive. We particular liked the breakfast as it was clear every effort had been made to provide fresh & local produce. The public areas were superb & very restful, as was the garden.
The hotel has ample parking space & is very conveniently located, town centre is about 15/20 walk - plenty of restaurants in Cheltenham!
We would stay again & recommend others to do sao as well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 1st & 2nd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Beaumont House for one night as we were visiting Cheltenham to get acquainted with the area before she starts her degree course at the University in September. We were upgraded to the Out of Asia room which was a lovely surprise and we really enjoyed the jacuzzi bath. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean and the products in the bathroom were a real treat. The hotel runs an honesty bar and complimentary tea and coffee which can be enjoyed in either the conservatory or the beautiful garden. Breakfast was superb, the staff are efficient and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone and I will be visiting again when my daughter has begun her degree, this time with my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mandy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for one night and had reserved 2 rooms, Good value for money, with comfortable clean rooms. The single room we had was small and in a half basement, so not the most inviting space. The standard double room was a lot better. Despite not being a charming space it more than served our requirement of a quick stop over.

The breakfast was very good. I specially liked the information provided on the sourcing of the ingredients including the sausages, eggs and Salmon. I thoroughly enjoyed the smoked salmon breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1voyageurDUmonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Easy to find, good parking and around fifteen minutes’ walk into the town centre. I originally booked a (the?) single room and having asked to see it before checking in, I’m glad I did. It is about the smallest, cramped, uninviting single room that I think I've ever seen and what’s more, it’s in a half basement. Fortunately, they had a larger double room free (Out of Asia) and it was as if in another hotel on a different planet. Beautifully designed and put together in terms of décor and furniture with a super bathroom containing a whirlpool bath and powerful shower. The bed was too soft for me, but that's just a personal preference.
The breakfast was one of the best I've had. They use locally sourced ingredients and anything cooked is done so freshly and expertly! The waitress in the morning was a joy; smiling, happy to be there and great example of how to do that job properly!
Free WiFi throughout the hotel was a bonus.
My one and only complaint; it would be great if it had a proper bar in the guest house, rather than a ‘help yourself trust bar’ with not very cold beers out of cans!

Room Tip: Don't book the single! Splash out a little more and indulge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bark-not-bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

an absolute gem of a hotel. small, quiet but full of it's own character. well decorated to a very high standard. friendly staff who were very helpful and a breakfast that was amazing.
my husband booked me a surprise stay in the out of africa room. querky but at the same time brilliant. whirpool bath and a spacious room to boot. he purchased little extras like champagne and chocolates and they were brought to the room within minutes of being shown up to the room.
excellent stay. we will definitely be going back. Thanks Fan and Alan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Took partner for birthday treat. Booked Out of Africa room did not know what to expect. On arrival in the middle of a massive thunder storm greeted by the owner who was absolutely charming ,showed to room which was stunning I have stayed at themed hotels in the past but this was quite different and genuine but also luxurious whith a fabulous bathroom. Very clean and breakfast rounded off a great stay really recommend a stay.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a theme book either out of Africa or out of asia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £82 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing