We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem”
Reviewed 12 June 2009

This was our third stay at this fantastic location. I only booked on the morning of our stay as a surprise for my wife. We stayed in one of the smaller doubles on the 2nd floor but the accomodation is swish comfortable and modern. There are lots of nice touches such as fresh fruit in the room/chocolates on pillow. In addition there is a lovely guest lounge with a well stocked "trust" bar as well as a conservatory with complimentary tea/coffee. The hotel is ideally situated about 20/30 minute stroll from town centre and 10/15 minutes from the trendy montpelier area.
The receptionist like all of the staff and owner was polite helpful and keen to offer a first class personal service explaining local sites and offering advice on good restaurants etc.
We chose to eat nearby at an exceptional indian restaurant called Indian Voojan which was located in montpelier.
A great nights sleep followed in the very comfortable bed and was followed by an excellent full english. There was also a very nice fresh fruit salad and all the usual cereal/pastry type options. We have stayed in some very expensive/prestigious hotels over the years and in our opinion this is probably the best. We left feeling that they really valued our custom...how often can you really say that.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbymoore06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    85
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
369
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2009

very very good. this was the second time we stayed here-we stayed last summer for a few days when my wife was pregnant and we decided to return weith out now 7 month old son. stayed in the out of asia themed room with it's budda fountain and giant japanese fan-the best thing was the whirlpool bath which i spent most of the evenings in! not much to stay that hasn't been said here already- great service (the first morning we had to take in turns to eat as our son was being a little noisy (!) at breakfast but after that they served us breakfast in the conservatory so we could eat together and he could shout to his heart's content!).

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the cotswolds with a car as it is a great place to set out from. Would only really recommend the breakfasts here (inlcuded in the room rate) if you are happy eating porridge with cream and honey, free range eggs and bacon, warm croissants, salmon and scramled eggs, pain au chocolats, fresh fruits......

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My better half booked this B&B as a surprise and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. A beautiful house with lovely staff and tasty food. Within good walking distance from the town centre. The themed rooms are a must if you can get the opportunity to reserve one of them. The service from the beginning to the end was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

First the positive - as other reviews have noted, the service here is great: personal but not obstrusive. The public rooms are beautiful and the breakfast absolutely excellent. There is also ample parking.

But the room I stayed in, the 'luxury single', was disappointing. It is not shown on the internet, so I had only the name 'luxury single' and the pictures of the other rooms on which to base my expectations. The other rooms are clearly spacious, and designed with attention to detail. The luxury single, on the other hand, is small and a very odd shape. You open the door onto the back of the bed's headboard and there is no room for a bedside table. Everything, although clearly of a high quality, is too big for the room which makes it seem even smaller: massive LCD TV, big chandalier, chunky bed head and footboards (wouldn't be good if you were tall). And the flowers are plastic, which I bet isn't the case in the other rooms. All this would be fine if the website, the price, and the fact that the room was called 'luxury' hadn't given me exactly the opposite impression.

So yes, this is a lovely hotel and I would stay here again but not in the 'luxury single'.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, NH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Do yourself a favor and stay here! This small, personal hotel combines the best of a classic Cheltenham mansion with rooms that have up-to-date style and amenities. The hotel has several unique "theme" rooms, and our 'family' room was furnished with a great contemporary style - loved it. There really was nothing I could have wanted for in our room that was not already there, thoughtfully anticipated and placed. This includes fresh fruit daily, high end toiletries, well stocked bar with a seemingly endless supply of free bottled water, free wireless internet, heated towels, and so on. In fact, the only thing I noticed that was "missing" from our room, was, I am sure, completely intentional: one of those horrible hotel LED alarm clocks! The garden is lovely, and the public rooms also have period furnishings but with great comfort and style. Beaumont House must have the most complete honor bar I've ever seen, wonderful free coffee & cappucinos at any time of day or night, and of course, great breakfasts. Another plus is the ample off-street parking, something you won't find at many even more expensive Cheltenham "hotels." The staff seem to appear magically when you need them, and then melt away when you don't - I really don't know how they know just when to appear, but it happened all week long, so there must be some kind of hidden system! Stay here, honestly, you'll never want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHLeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed here at the end of January into February 2009 and it is the most homely and welcoming place i have stayed in in a long time! The staff were so attentive and friendly. They were full of good ideas of what to do and where to eat. They booked taxis for us and i genuinely felt they wanted us to have a great time there. The breakfast was filling and we had lots of choice which can be quite rare! They even had a vegetarian option for a cooked breakfast! The complimentary tea and coffee facilities and the comfy seating area were both a wonderful touch. The next time i decide to retreat away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, I would definitely stay here again! Wonderful!

  • Liked — The high quality service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarriedCouple00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at the Beaumont House Hotel in January to celebrate our Wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed with this gem of a hotel.

In Summary:

Room- Exceptional quality furnishings down to the finest detail and very well equipped with all you might need including large flat screen satellite TV (incl Sky Sports) and DVD player.

Bathroom - Fantastic!! We had a very large whirlpool bath tub and this had a very good overhead shower (great after a days walking!).

Meals - Breakfast was great. Everything you could want from both cooked and continental (even catered for my veggie wife very well). Evening dinner is served on some nights (we were not sure which but was not a problem). Try The Langston or Hotel Du Vin for an excellent meal locally.

Location - Good. Walking distance to a number of restaurants and pubs although some of the best places that I would recommend eating at (as above) are 10 min car/taxi ride away. You are a 45 min drive to Stratford if you fancy a bit of Shakespeare and right on the doorstep of a number of great walks in the Cotswold countryside (though car is essential).

Staff - Brilliant (made such a difference). A personal thanks to Fan, Alan and the team who are extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them.

For those who have suggested in other reviews that this is a B&B, they are totally missing the point. Yes, it doesn't have an Olympic sized swimming pool and 300 bedrooms and frankly it is all the better for it. The team all know you by name after the first day, your breakfast will be cooked for you on the spot rather than some mass produced rubbish at a Holiday Inn and this hotel actually feels like it has a personality unlike some soulless alternatives I've had to endure over the years.

If you are looking for exceptional comfort and quality, friendly staff, a good breakfast and a great base for the stunning Cotswolds then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — The quality of the room furnishing
  • Disliked — Would have been absolutely perfect if slightly closer to centre of Cheltenham but this was not an issue for us as had car and used taxis
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gb902940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing