We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #4 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed at Beaumont House for my birthday last weekend. From the warm welcome we received when we arrived, to the beautiful rooms and the lovely breakfast....we all agreed that Beaumont House is a very special place. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and the staff went out of their way to make my birthday special. As we had beautiful weather we were able to take advantage of the gazebo in garden to relax but there is also a lovely cosy conservatory if you were not so lucky with the weather!
We cannot thank the staff enough for such a lovely weekend and are looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Beaumont for 2 nights to celebrate his 40th birthday. The building is lovely and inside all the rooms we saw had been refurbished to a very high standard. The drawing room in particular was gorgeous. We stayed in the large double on the second floor and it was decorated to a very high standard. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the two owners were particularly welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful room.
Little touches which made all the difference were complimentary coffee and biscuits in the conservatory, apples in the bedroom, newspapers and current magazines in the drawing room and complimentary mineral water. A great idea to have a trust bar as well. These are all things that a guest house could save money on by not providing but the Beaumont excels because of these little touches. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesTorbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

To be honest I cant fault the hotel at all, it lived up to all the reviews! The rooms we stayed in were the themed rooms, the Out of Asia and the Out of Africa rooms, they were just outstanding, everything you could wish for, comfortable, lovely whirlpool bath and the best thing for me was the fresh milk in the fridge rather than the usual UHT pots that you get.... thats what I call luxury. It just sums up this hotel.. it was the nice little touches that made it so special. There were lovely bath robes and when we returned from our night out the bed had been turned down and they left mints on the bed. The staff were very helpful and we were given a map showing where everything was and how to get there. The hotel is situated not very far from the town and so you are able to walk to most restaurants and bars.

The breakfast was lovely too... the full english, cereal, fruit juice, warm croissants, jams, etc, the service was fast and the coffee was fantastic.

Overall I couldnt fault this hotel and I am hoping to go back again very soon.

The owner asked if I thought he had gone over the top with the rooms as they are very elaborate but to be honest it made a refreshing change and the bed in the Out of Africa room is just gigantic... all in all if you are going to visit Cheltenham any time soon this is the only place to stay :-)

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank mryse124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed in this stately bed and breakfast for four nights in May 2009. It is owned and hosted wonderfully by Fan and Alan Bishop and is conveniently located in a lovely residential section of Cheltenham. Fan and Alan were extremely helpful with suggestions and provided maps for day trips into the surrounding Cotswolds area. They also made recommendations and reservations for us at three superb local restaurants, Braseerie Blanc, Daffodil and Lumiere. The rooms are well appointed and very clean, and the included breakfast was hearty and well presented. We hope that we can return here soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatDarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the double bedroom. It's located on the top (3rd) floor and had a very large bathroom with bathtub. There was a flat screen TV, hot water pot with tea, cookies, and apples all complimentary. There was also free WiFi via a cable in the room. Everything in the room was perfect. There was also a nice yard in the back, and 2 sitting rooms. There's an honor bar and free coffee/tea in one of the lounge areas. Breakfast was amazing and very complete. There was a menu with just about anything you could want- including fish. It was delicious.

There was plenty of parking and it was about a 15 minute walk into town but we always chose to drive. We drove around the Cotswolds based on the map in the room. We did the romantic road up near Broadway and then back through Bourton-on-the-Water, which was our favorite town (and just slightly south on their map). We also stopped at Snowshill Manor and spent about 2 hours there. The gardens were beautiful and the house was... interesting. The drive took us about 8 hours, but we stopped a lot and ate lunch and dinner in some of the little towns and drove up to Stratford-Upon-Avon for an hour as well.

If we ever come back, and I hope we do, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

This was our third stay at this fantastic location. I only booked on the morning of our stay as a surprise for my wife. We stayed in one of the smaller doubles on the 2nd floor but the accomodation is swish comfortable and modern. There are lots of nice touches such as fresh fruit in the room/chocolates on pillow. In addition there is a lovely guest lounge with a well stocked "trust" bar as well as a conservatory with complimentary tea/coffee. The hotel is ideally situated about 20/30 minute stroll from town centre and 10/15 minutes from the trendy montpelier area.
The receptionist like all of the staff and owner was polite helpful and keen to offer a first class personal service explaining local sites and offering advice on good restaurants etc.
We chose to eat nearby at an exceptional indian restaurant called Indian Voojan which was located in montpelier.
A great nights sleep followed in the very comfortable bed and was followed by an excellent full english. There was also a very nice fresh fruit salad and all the usual cereal/pastry type options. We have stayed in some very expensive/prestigious hotels over the years and in our opinion this is probably the best. We left feeling that they really valued our custom...how often can you really say that.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbymoore06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

very very good. this was the second time we stayed here-we stayed last summer for a few days when my wife was pregnant and we decided to return weith out now 7 month old son. stayed in the out of asia themed room with it's budda fountain and giant japanese fan-the best thing was the whirlpool bath which i spent most of the evenings in! not much to stay that hasn't been said here already- great service (the first morning we had to take in turns to eat as our son was being a little noisy (!) at breakfast but after that they served us breakfast in the conservatory so we could eat together and he could shout to his heart's content!).

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the cotswolds with a car as it is a great place to set out from. Would only really recommend the breakfasts here (inlcuded in the room rate) if you are happy eating porridge with cream and honey, free range eggs and bacon, warm croissants, salmon and scramled eggs, pain au chocolats, fresh fruits......

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
1.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#3 of 69 in Cheltenham
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £76 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing