We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

when we arrived at Beaumont house we were greeted with a lovely warm and friendly welcoming from the hotel staff, we were shown around the hotels and were impressed immediately. When we were taken to our room we couldn't believe how nice it was, lovely decor etc...
We strongly recommend going to the daffodil restaurant which is only 10 minutes away, we had a really enjoyable meal with excellent service too, we also visited the Gloucester water front, and went into Cheltenham for the day. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Cotswold where quality and service is important to you then look no further than Beaumont House.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WolverhamptonBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    77
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
342
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

After staying at Beaumont House while working in Cheltenham earlier this year, I decided to return with my husband and 13-year old son for the New Year. After a hectic year at work we wanted somewhere quiet where we'd be looked after with lots of care behind the scenes. First things first - we had a fabulous time. We stayed in the Out of Africa room (with single room for our teenager on the same floor) - a wonderfully decadent and unexpected treat in a house in a residential road. Fruit, fluffy dressing gowns and mints on the pillow awaited us - as did a warm welcome from Fan and Alan (who are just fabulous at customer service). Breakfast is cooked to order; if you judge somewhere to stay by the quality of its sausages you'll love it here. Alan helped us to break our New Year's resolutions very early by meeting everyone in the lounge on New Year's Day with champagne and orange juice and although I'd been impressed enough by first impressions to want to return, the second impressions were even better. On a practical note, Beaumont House is within very easy walking distanceof the fantastic range of shops/cinema/lovely local restaurants (including a Brasserie Blanc), or if you fancy a quiet night in, there's a very comfortable lounge with an open fire and lots of books and board games to while away a relaxed evening. It's also a very short hop away from some beautiful Cotswold villages - with routes thoughtfully supplied and left in your room. We followed the Romance Trail through Stow, Broadway and Winchcombe - a very happy way to start our new year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Can't wait to go back. I am a critical person but could not find fault. We love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I booked Beaumont House in July for a family get-together. We were 9 people: three generations, ranging in age from 70 (my mother, whose birthday we were celebrating) to 2 years old (my lively little nephew). None of us had been to Cheltenham before, and we chose it because it was relatively easy to get to from various far-flung starting points. It turned out to be surprisingly tricky to find somewhere both sophisticated enough for demanding grown-ups and welcoming to small children. Beaumont House fitted the bill 100%. From the moment I first made contact they could not have been kinder and more helpful. Fran and Alan Bishop are incredibly hospitable, with the highest standards, and their staff were just brilliant. The hotel, as everyone says, is comfortable and stylish. The breakfast is great. We had the Out of Africa and Out of Asia suites, both great fun, and Africa was roomy enough for the whole family to lounge about together. We can recommend Cheltenham as a pretty, very pleasant place to spend a weekend, and a special mention to the Thai Emerald restaurant (event dining!) and Cowley Manor (fab weekend lunch and an afternoon roaming the beautiful grounds).

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LondonFionah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

We chose this hotel for our 10th anniversary long weekend (4 nights). We could not have chosen better. It was perfect. Fantastic room beautifully decorated with lovely furniture and a Hypnos superking bed. Excellent breakfasts and excellent service. I loved the guest lounge and conservatory with tea, coffee and biscuits freely available at no extra cost. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic break. 10-15 minute walk into Cheltenham. Also look out for Laze Daze restaurant on your left as you go into town - great food.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Booked Beaumont House for a long weekend visiting the Cotswolds after reading the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed.

Upon arrival, we had a minor problem because we hadn't been able to drop off our daughter en route because her boyfriend had been delayed in Germany! The staff at the hotel made enquiries for us about rail and bus services to Swindon and allowed our daughter to stay in our room until transport was arranged.

Our room, although a little smaller than expected, was spotless, well equipped, quiet and kept in first class order throughout our stay. The breakfasts were some of the best we've had anywhere, generous too, but THREE fried eggs would be glutony! The staff were polite and very efficient and also took the trouble to send my phone charger to my home address after I left it in the room.

The hotel is about a mile from the centre of Cheltenham, where we had some excellent meals. Top rated restaurant Vanilla didn't disappoint and we'd recommend a visit to Zizzi's to see what can be done to an old church (10 minutes walk from hotel).

We didn't make it to Westonbirt Arboretum as recommended by several people but then saw it on TV the evening we returned home! Definite for a visit next Autumn, as is Beaumont House.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had high expectations following all the great reviews. I can honestly say that they were met on every count.

On arrival the house is impressive and large (and importantly easy to find) set back from the street with a large car park and a lovely back garden that you can see tucked around the side. We went inside to be met by the owner and a lovely lady who was looking after the hotel for the next couple of days as the owner was off to Spain. Once we had checked in we were taken to our room which was the main room of the Presbury suite. It was a beatifully furnished, clean and thoughtfully decorated room with a great big spa bathroom and whirlpool tub. We were looked after with such care and attention at every stage of our stay, lots of advice was given on places to go and things to see and all the staff were extremely helpful and warm and friendly.

The breakfasts were great on both days with the most delicious fluffy scrambled eggs with salmon and my fiance said that the english breakfast was also sublime. The breakfast menu was so appealing with lots of choice and stated the provenance of all the ingredients, most of which were locally sourced.

I cannot reccomend this hotel highly enough, every aspect of the stay was positive and when I left a small item at the hotel it was posted back to me within a week. I would also reccomend going to the Daffodill restaurant for a drink or dinner as it is an amazing dinner destination being built in a renovated art deco cinema. After returning from dinner we enjoyed a drink from the honesty bar and relaxed on the cosy sofas in the elegant front room and played a game of scrabble!

Cheltenham is only a short walk away, not really sure why anyone would consider 10 or 15 minutes too much of an effort! It is a beautiful town with lots of little antique shops, cafes and restaurants. We also did a fantastic walk in the Cotswalds which took us through upper and lower slaughter which are beautiful little towns.

All in all a great trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Everne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.6 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing