We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely light lunch”
Review of Hot Pepper Jelly - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hot Pepper Jelly
Price range: US$5 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Brasserie HPJ is a rustic and original restaurant/sandwich bar located in the Suffolks of Cheltenham. We provide a relaxed service with a homely and holiday like atmosphere. We open daytime as a cafe and evening as a restaurant with a different a la carte menu, we also have a handy bring your own alcohol policy. We are a small family run business who work hard to give our customers a wonderful experience. Make sure to book a table for evening service! (Mon-Sat lunchtimes & Tues-Sat evenings)
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely light lunch”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very quick service for freshly cooked food despite being full on a Saturday lunch time. Relaxed atmosphere, with some patrons reading their morning paper.

Salad ordered full of flavorsome ingredients that managed to be light but filling. Both mine and other half's plate scrapped clean. Drinks of homemade lemonade delicious (a little sweet for boyfriend though)

Annoying that this is cash only place, but recalling going here a few years ago for an equally tasty dinner, I can confidently recommend this place for a meal at any time of day

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely for brunch / lunch”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very good coffee, great salads and sandwiches - perfect pit stop in Tivoli. Cute little garden at the back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank run_ski_alski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Recommend”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I used to come here all the time with my friends, I think we've gotten through most of the menu between us and the food's always been brilliant, I particularly like the sausage sandwiches and the chips are to die for. It has a relaxed family atmosphere with a really cute little garden, and to top it off the homemade cakes and delicious hot chocolates make a lovely snack or pudding at any time of day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Tastiest Meatballs Ever!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Swedish Style spicy meatballs I had today for lunch were wonderfully tasty. On a bed of brown rice and lentils with a little salad they were fantastic value for money. I'm a big eater, and they filled me to satisfaction. A 'Spot On' pace for lunch, though it's a shame they don't take cards, increasingly unusual for Cheltenham.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericworrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed Saturday lunch”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our children were all busy and so we decided to go out for grown ups only Saturday lunch. Great range of food on offer. We managed to bag the last table inside (was tempted to sit in lovely pretty garden, but March proved not quite warm enough yet)… Fab bacon lettuce and tomato sandwich and husband had Vlad's special HPJ option. Great coffee and shared a desert.
As always, very friendly service from Mum and daughter team.
We are lucky to have this as our local. Can't wait for weather to be warm enough to enjoy the garden!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BollyPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Pepper Jelly also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Prestbury, Cheltenham
 
Brockhampton, Cheltenham
Woodmancote, Cheltenham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing