We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - service could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had selected the Queen's Hotel as the place where guests for a wedding would stay. The hotel itself is beautiful -- an impressive facade, historic bar, comfortable and lovely lobby. For the main members of the bridal party, we had reserved suites. The bathrooms were well lit, and the rooms large and tastefully furnished.
Our main quibble was the staff. Although friendly, it appears most were foreigners who were doing these jobs (housekeeping, dining room servers) to improve their English. A top class hotel usually does things (e.g., offers persons registering a map of the immediate area and explains exactly where the hotel parking is). The staff seemed to have been given minimal training, and were unprepared to respond to unusual requests (e.g., champagne at brunch/breakfast on Sunday to celebrate an anniversary) or obvious problems (the need for more seats and place settings at a long table). No one even came forward to assist a bride (in a gown with a long train) leave the hotel (as it was obvious going through the revolving door would not work). Moreover, an item that should have been in the room (an iron, a hair dryer, a Cotswold magazine) was missing from every one of the five rooms we paid for. Finally, one would have expected something special (e.g., some chocolates) sent to the room of the person who was responsible for having ten rooms booked for her wedding guests. Most guests would find this hotel perfectly acceptable. I only note this because it has a 4-star appearance and the service does not match that (but the young staff were polite).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloriaAnchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THeenan, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel Mercure Cheltenham Queen's Hotel up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. Please feel free to call me on 01242 514754 or email me on H6632-GM@accor.com to discuss further.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

An old-style hotel, lovely location, helpful staff - room with a great view. Room was a bit on the small side, but not anything like Paris sized hotel rooms. We did have to wait a bit to check in, as the weekend had been for a jazz festival. But they stored our luggage for us, and we were able to go around the corner for a bite to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpQ5278WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THeenan, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Cheltenham Queen's Hotel and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Hayling Island
1
Reviewed 6 May 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
THeenan, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2011

A great hotel, bang in the centre of town. An architectural delight! This was the first purpose built hotel in Europe and it oozes old world charm at reasonable prices. The room was delightful and the bed huge. The bathroom was tasteful and elegant

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrewLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THeenan, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Cheltenham Queen's Hotel, Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stay at the Queens 2 or 3 times year and love it, its in the perfect position and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. The food is wonderful and service second to non. The building does show some signs of wear but its an old building full of character and we love it. Well done to all the staff can`t wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldwellMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THeenan, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Cheltenham Queen's Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My mother & I stayed here for a 'shopping weekend'. Taxi was 5 mins from Train Station. Hotel looked lovely from outside & was in fabulous location for walking to Cheltenham centre. Staff were very welcoming and were always helpful. Unfortunatly the decor inside the hotel was very very tired. Our room was small, cold and very noisy. The furnishings in the room were again tired and very worn. The pillows were awful, they were the good old fashioned ones stuffed with square pieces of foam and they were small. The carpet was dirty & we ensured
we never had bare feet!
We had to ask 3 times for more milks. A member of staff had to manhandle the bedroom windows to get them to close which did reduce the noise a little & make it slightly warmer.
This hotel could be stunning as it has some beautiful features that need updating. It is also in a prime location.
The breakfast was the best part of the hotel. The conservatory was lovely, bright and clean. The food was delicious, staff very helpful and pleasant.
At the end of our stay we did relay all our issues to the staff, but whether anything is done remains to be seen.
My advice to anyone with a stay due at this hotel is to ring them and ask for one of their better rooms! That was the advice we were given to encourage us to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THeenan, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I’ll look into this personally and come back to you. Please send your email address or phone number to H6632-GM@accor.com Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Of all the rooms in Cheltenham hotels, this was the biggest we've experienced and with the grandest views looking out down towards the Promenade. Whilst at the front of the hotel, we didn't suffer from the noise that other reviews have mentioned. The bathroom was okay, but not outstanding compared with others. The communal areas in the hotel were old-style, the staircase mixing more patterns than I previously thought possible... The dining room was "old style", or perhaps that was the clientele. We ate at the adjacent Blanc brasserie which was great atmosphere and good food. Back to the hotel - breakfast was plentiful, and special orders were possible in addition to the buffet style offering, although the staff weren't massively attentive when it came to soliciting requests.

The car park was secure, but costs. We also struggled one day when we couldn't get the barrier to open to get IN!

The staff were friendly and attentive, and were helpful and always on hand for ice, room service etc.

Happily recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTBSteve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THeenan, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Cheltenham Queen's Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#11 of 23 in Cheltenham
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England (Formerly Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £98 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Centre of town, easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - MGallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing