We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

A perfect place for a visit to Cheltenham. A beautiful old building, this was the first purpose built hotel in Europe. The welcome at reception was warm, friendly and efficient and the reception area is good. The room was a good size but a little tired and in need of refurbishment. Good, modern TV, good tea making kit, lovely bathroom if a bit lacking in finishing detail - if my builder did my home like this I would complain. The window overlooked the rear car park and yard and as it is single glazing we found the noise kept us awake until after midnight - there was a wedding reception in progress. For us the things that we didn't like were that the bed sagged in the middle and is clearly overdue for replacement, and the toilet paper is the very cheap, flimsy stuff, a false economy. (Manager - please use Nicky Elite - very good and low cost.)
The restaurant is excellent with a good menu, and small but OK wine list with some nice choices. The staff make a huge difference here. Very friendly and professional. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Never before had duck with such an amazing sauce! Breakfast in the same restaurant was very good. Fairly normal buffet and a menu for hot items, and again, the staff were very good. All of the staff we met were friendly, helpful and efficient. They are a credit to the manager.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely without hesitation. Would we recommend to friends? Absolutely but with a warning that our bed was a bit worn out (Not by us!) :-)
The location is brilliant for the town centre as it's only 3 minutes walk to the shops, cafes etc. and directly opposite is a well laid out civic garden. If you need a hotel in Cheltenham I would suggest The Queen's, although the Mercure board really need to spend some money on upgrading it soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyOldGet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Guest Relations Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your comments, in particular your very kind comments in regard to the staff. I will pass these on to the staff concered who I know will be delighted to know that their efforts were appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Queen’s in the near fuiture.

Carol Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    424
    188
    89
    62
See reviews for
149
601
40
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Great location near to town centre but in a quiet area. Local bars restaurants etc very good along with boutique style shopping. Ideally situated to explore the local area and good motorway links for travelling further afield. Beautiful countryside only minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awelltravelled23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great rooms, we stayed on the third floor which had very spacious rooms. We asked if there was parking and were directed to the hotel car park. We weren't told about the £10 charge though, so be warned! The hotel was clean and the location is perfect.

Breakfast was a huge let down. We had to wait for a table and the quality of food was very poor. The buffet wasn't supervised so food wad running out regularly and we had to wait for plates.

The staff are friendly but attention to detail isn't great. It's fine for a one night stay but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed on a Sunday night which may explain why the hotel appeared quiet.

First room I was allocated still had the previous guests luggage by the side of the bed so had to request a change of room. Room was comfortable and had all you would expect in terms of TV, refreshment facilities etc.

Restaurant looked empty so decided to eat elsewhere for dinner.

At breakfast I was shown to my table and asked to choose my hot choice of food before getting my fruit juice and cereal from the breakfast buffet area. By the time I was back to my table with juice and cereal the scrambled eggs and sausages I had ordered were on the table. The eggs had obviously been standing around for some time and were dry and tasteless and the sausages were clearly undercooked and were raw inside. Probably the most unappetising breakfast I've ever been served and was left uneaten. Glad I chose somewhere else to eat the evening before if this was an example of what normally comes out of the kitchen.

Very average hotel that I would not rush to return to.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclark57cycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I love this Hotel everytime i stay here is always feels very welcoming. Yea sure it could do with about £5 mil spending on it but thats all part of it. A special mention to the little gordie girl behind the bar she was great but so are all the other staff. Looking forward to another stay near christmas. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for work for 2 nights. First of all, location is perfect on Imperial Gardens at the end of the Promenade and the building is beautiful. Check-in was fine, and the staff throughout the stay were all OK. The only small issue I had was that when I came back in the evening I was unable to find the TV remote. After reporting this to Reception it took an hour and a half for a new one to be delivered (turned out when I went to bed, I found the original remote was in the bed). Breakfast was of the expected standard.

The main disappointment with this hotel is the decor, fixtures and fittings, all of which are slightly shabby, in need of sprucing up, and a little old fashioned. It is however worth bearing in mind that it is a very old property. The room (207) was neat, clean and tidy, slightly on the small side, with a rather tired bathroom, but very clean nonetheless.

It was very hot and humid during my stay, and despite the air conditioning, the room was stiflingly hot at night.

The hotel is, despite all the above still worth staying in and does tick most of the boxes. It's in a great location in the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing