We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely character hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely character hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Beautiful building with character and the decor inside particularly the Pugin wallpapered stairwell is amazing. Had a very large room, comfy bed and the only thing to fault was the flush of the toilet which lacked any real pressure. Breakfast was very good but the sound of the background music killed any chance of conversation. Efficient check in and check out service. Some "brown" hotel signage signs on the road system to the hotel would be good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monktonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham in the near future.
Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    431
    189
    90
    64
See reviews for
154
624
42
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We visited this hotel at the end of May for a wedding party and stayed overnight. Booking in was easy, quick and efficient. We were shown to our room which although not huge, was double aspect and situated at the front of the hotel with views of the hills at the side. It was clean and comfortable, and our luggage was brought up to the room quickly and efficiently. One downside was that the bed was a little too soft for my husband who is used to a firmer mattress, but i was okay! Breakfast was excellent with a good variety which suit everyone. The 'full English breakfast' was of excellent quality and tasted as if it was individually cooked to order even though it was bulk cooked and self service! The staff were friendly, respectful and very helpful, greeting everyone with a smile and a friendly word. The Hotel is located on The Promenade and within easy waking distance of the town. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would recommend it to anyone wanting to spend some time in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham again. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I only stayed for one night but it was excellent. From the minute we parked the car in the hotel car park to our checkout, every thing went like clockwork. All the staff were very attentive and treated us as honoured guests.
Although the room was a little dated it did not detract from the comfort. Everything was spotlessly clean and all essentials provided.
Dinner in the restuarant was excellent, with very attentive staff. My starter of crayfish and prawn salad was very good and the steak main course superb.

In conclusion I must add that I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. In fact that statement applies to all Mercure Hotels

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights over bank holiday in a standard room that was at the back. Other than the bathroom looking a bit marked on floors and ceiling, this room was quiet, comfy, pretty large and perfect for the price.
Previously we have stayed at The Monpellier Chapter which has stylish public rooms and a good restaurant but the bedrooms are always so disappointing - small stuffy and very overpriced. We decided to give up going there, they are not as great as they think they are.
The hotel had the glamour and drama of high Victorian style, wuith a beautiful entrance with black & white marble tiled floor, and the inner staircase under and atrium is wonderfully dramatic, making coming and going to the room a real treat - we couldn't stop photographing it!
The breakfast is also very good, in a lovely dining room, with really good quality options, including good fruit and speciality options you can order that were also excellent - smoked haddock & poached eggs!
There was a wedding on when we were there, so the hotel was buzzy but not badly so, so if noise bother ask for a room at the back.
A great hotel well run, and good looking enough to feel like a small treat. And at £99 inc breakfast its fantastic value.

Room Tip: quiet rooms second floor at the back - 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jserseypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just returned from our second trip to the Queens and it was very enjoyable.The first room we were allocated I did reject as not being a superior room and there was scaffolding outside which meant builders would be at work from 8 in the morning, but the staff were very good and gave us another room 108 which we were very happy with, except for the cold. The heating had been switched off despite the cold weather but when I complained the room was cold we were given a heater and luckily after our first cold visit I had packed a lot of warm clothes and hot water bottle The rest of the hotel was warm.The staff were excellent all round, we ate in the bar both evenings and the food and service were excellent We were not disappointed with anything on our second visit. I just have one comment, the toilet paper is awful, thin and nasty. Its only a little thing but when everything else is so good it lets it down. Please consider using something better. I appreciate the green policy but please draw the line when supplying toilet paper ! My thanks to all the staff who made our visit comfortable and enjoyable and always with a smile.

Room Tip: 108 and the Queen Victoria room are very nice classed as superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moirabristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent return visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and was very pleased to read that the staff made your visit enjoyable. We have noted your comments regarding the toilet paper which I will highlight to head office.

look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on 10th and 11th May. Our room for the first night was a bit disappointing as it was quite small. It overlooked the front of the hotel which unfortunately as we found out that evening, due to its position and the lack of double glazing, we heard every vehicle that went past and peoples voices could be heard clearly. At 4am we turned the air conditioning on to try and mask the traffic noise which it did a bit but not enough and so we didn't have much sleep, having said that the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was small and looked as if it could do with an upgrade. The following morning we asked at reception if we could move rooms to one at the back of the hotel as we couldn't face another sleepless night. The receptionist was most apologetic and arranged for us to move to another room and indeed when we got back after lunch our belongings had been moved to a different room at the back of the hotel. This room was much larger, it looked a bit tired in places, mis matched lamp shades, tv remote falling apart and the bathroom could do with modernising, the pressure of the shower water was not much more than a trickle, but the bed was very comfortable and even though there was no view, more importantly it was very quiet! The breakfast was relaxed and unhurried with plenty of choice and the staff friendly and efficient. We found the drinks in the bar quite expensive, for example a 175ml glass of white wine costing over £7. The location of the hotel is really good and it is a lovely old building but it does need refurbishing in certain areas. The guest toilets on the ground floor had a very strong unpleasant drainage smell. I would stay here again but only next time in a refurbished room at the back of the hotel. On a positive note the staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they were friendly, polite and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. You may not get such a good view but at least you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I will pass on your kind remarks to the staff who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

I am aware that the hotel is looking tired, however I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence soon.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here weekend of 10 May 2013, for my birthday and paid for an executive room. We arrived at the hotel and we got the "Queen Victoria Suite". This is a premium room, and the size was very good however there was a stain on the carpet, stains on the sofa, marks of lipstick on the window where someone has kissed them, crumpled leaflets on the side, the door to wardrobe didn't shut, the bathroom door was cracked at the bottom and the blind in the bathroom was covered in dust, they hoover around objects as when we used the trouser press the dust surrounding it was ridiculous. This is basic cleaning lacking here. After looking over these faults the bed was very comfortable, however the maids/cleaners obviously do not know who is staying where as one casually walked In at 9am and then again at 11am, not really what a paying customer expects even to knock it may have not been so bad.
We have stayed in the Mercure in Bristol not so long back hence why we stayed in Cheltenham thinking it would be similar, I would return to Bristol every time over this and stay in their basic room, they were friendly, helpful and also had cleaners which didn't interrupt your sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kimberley-mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guest

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham wasn’t up to expectations. The standard of service you received is not indicative of our usual high performance. Please rest assured that I have taken your comments very seriously and have ensured that the necessary action has been taken with the Housekeeping Manager in order to prevent any re-occurrence of the issues you faced, as it is not acceptable to have such lapses in the service we provide.
I hope most sincerely that despite this setback, you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future. Please contact me personally should you wish to return and I would be delighted to offer you favourable terms
Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing