We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of strengths but not currently worth this kind of money for three reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

GOOD: Superb location, very friendly staff, very clean, excellent catering (we had breakfast, lunch and dinner there over three days and all were very good), good large meeting hall (our business meeting had 50 delegates - all accommodated well), lift working well, nice lounge for guests (when free), car park (at additional cost). NEEDS ATTENTION: The decorative state of our room can only be described as shabby; peeling paint, wallpaper becoming detached from the wall in places. Air conditioning was broken (and obviously had been for a long, long time). Room was like an oven when we checked in. Quality of the mattress was also awful. (We have slept much better in Travelodges and Premier Inns!) Reported air conditioning was broken on the first day but nothing at all had happened by the time we checked out. Also no leisure facilities (pool, gym sauna etc) at all. (The city needs to chuck the bureaucrats out of the Town Hall (just across Imperial Gardens in front of the hotel) and turn this into a first rate leisure centre which guests from top hotels can access at no (or considerably reduced) cost).

Room Tip: IF you are going to stay here, probably worth the extra to get a front-facing room with view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csrothwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay.
I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence in 2014/15.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham again.
Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel was beautiful and very archaic, seemingly steeped in history. The outside was gorgeous, as was the interior. However, we never quite worked out where the pool was located. I booked one night for my boyfriend and I, including a meal; the meal was divine, except, we had to pay extra because it was not all included [contrary to what I thought I'd paid for.] Moreover, I was outraged by the £10 fine for the parking - never have I known a hotel to charge its guests for parking!!!! Anyway, regardless of those financial hiccups, I loved the hotel and I would recommend it. Also, breakfast was delicious; unfortunately they did not replace food when it went low or disappeared, but there was a fabulous variety to counteract that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. We do not have leisure facilites on site, however our guests have use of the nearby college facilities.
A number of hotels in town centre locations have introduced car park charges. I am keenly aware that it is an additional expense for our guests, however, given the availability and alternatives I do feel that our charge is fair value.
I do hope these issues will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed overnight for business, nice hotel and great position. close to the town and a nice park in front of the hotel. Breakfast is good. The rooms need a bit of updating, there was a damp stain over the bath. My main issue was the creaking of the floorboards, every time someone walked in the room above or outside the room, you would here loud and clear. Also I was carrying a suitcase and pull along. It was like a commando course to get to my room as I had to go up and down stairs to get to the room.

Room Tip: If you have a couple of suitcase make sure you get them to carry to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence in 2014/15.

Kind Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great location. First time I stayed they downgraded me to a single room but had beer vouchers waiting for me when I arrived (how did they know .....l)

Friendly staff - relaxed and happy to have a laugh.

Rooms mostly large and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank DougPLarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed another stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and that you find the staff friendly.

We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the queens at the end of sept 2013, and attended a family wedding nearby . the hotel is in an excellent location opposite a lovely park and right near the centre with shops and bars and restaurants very close by .the staff were very helpful and friendly , breakfasts fab ,and serve till 11 am at weekends . there is a lovely garden to sit in also . rooms are very comfortable , ours had a fridge although the rest of our party didn't have ? beds v comfortable . our room was a little noisy as the brasserie blanc restaurant is under the corner that we were on but it didn't bother us or stop us from sleeping , but the rest of our party were on the other side of the corridor and had no noise at all . would definitely stay here again , Cheltenham is a lovely place !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferret40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We've just spent a lovely hour or so in the garden at the Queens having afternoon tea courtesy of a Living Social voucher.
We were looked after by Alex, who is funny and knowledgeable.
He apologised profusely for "keeping us waiting", but we were in no rush and don't think we were left waiting at all!
The food was fantastic and just the right amount - we hadn't eaten lunch and I expected to leave hungry, but that wasn't the case at all. The smoked haddock tartlet was particularly tasty, although my partner wasn't keen (which meant I got to eat his as well! Win for me).
I couldn't fault the service or the food at all, and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Contemptuous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Mercure Queen's Hotel for afternoon tea. Alex will be delighted to hear that his efforts were appreciated and that you had an enjoyable afternoon tea. I look forward to welcoming you back at again.
Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I did not have great expectations for this hotel as the rate of around 75 GBP per night is not expensive for the UK. We stayed the 25th and 26th August. The hotel more than merits its current room rate.The room was quite large and our travelling companions twin room was huge. We were in the rear of the hotel so no view over the really beautiful park right outside the hotel but it was really quiet. The other really great benefit was an almost silent airconditioning system as we had really hot weather on our trip and still slept soundly. The building itself is really attractive and is situated on a beautiful square with the park at its centre. The shops and restaurants are a two minute walk but the real find for us was the Raymond Blanc Bistro which is not part of the hotel but is in the same building. Fantastic food in a lovely room , good staff and very good value. I can understand if someone visited during race week that the place would be noisy but that will be the same no matter where you go. The staff were helpful, the public parts of the hotel have a quirky mix of decor and architectural style and the rooms were decorated plainly but with some style. We will definitely go back. Cheltenham is a nice town to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the park. Those in the back are quieter. Some stairs involved even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England (Formerly Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £105 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing