We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Arrived during a wedding, unfortunately the hotel does not have separate function and hotel space. Had to fight through with suitcases which was not a good start, and probably not for the wedding guests either!

On arrival we gave our Accor platinum card, and also credit card and ordered newspapers. Later in bar could not charge drinks to our room as ' the account had not been opened', newspapers did not arrive, and on checkout the accor number had not even been put on the account!

The next day another wedding, again trying to get up and down stairs and through reception almost impossible at times - one wedding guest told me to 'use the lift', another said 'glad you are not in a hurry'! The final straw - breakfast finishing early for a wedding fayre. I get the impression this hotel is not interested in you if you are not part of a wedding.

Room clean, but tiny and airless.

Breakfast very good indeed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cc1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Despite the experience you encountered, it is our prime objective to serve all our customers to the best of our ability and to provide unrivalled value in the quality of our services and standards.

I apologise that you were not informed of the weddings and wedding fayre when making your booking.

We value your custom and I hope most sincerely that despite this setback, you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    431
    189
    90
    64
See reviews for
154
624
42
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

stayed here with my girlfriend for the night for a treat was a very lavish room with a huge bed and a mini bar :) which is always a good thing the staff were excellent and were very welcoming. the breakfast was amazing from morning meats to the best coffee.

Room Tip: Privilege suite!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On arrival the staff we excellent. We came with agroup of passengers from the US and the dining arrangements were excellent as well as the food! Rooms were fine, especially the ones overlooking the park, with shops, ATM's and wine bars close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The second time I have stayed here, very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and good value. The Pugin wallpaper in the stairwell is stunning (over 175 years old). Very well positioned for the center of Cheltenham. Nice friendly bar area. Good breakfast. Upgraded rooms were very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Although its a little dated, this adds to its charm. Offered an upgrade on arrival of £10 per night for an executive room. Well worth it with a king size bed, settee, etc. THe food selection was not very big, but it was well presented and very tasty. My wife said her steak was the best she had eaten for a very long time. My pork belly was also excellent. It might be worth mentioning here that our waitress, Joanna was terrific.

The hotel was better than expected and if/when we next visit the area, we would certainly aim to stay here.

Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here on the 9th and 10th of September. I am used to the mercure hotel chain having stopped at a few around the country, always find the mercure hotels to be of high standard and the Queens is no exception, beautiful location with the park opposite and near the promenade for shopping, all the bars restaurants are within walking distance as are the shops. Booked into a privilege room but on arrival upgraded to a four poster bedroom which had a lovely view of the park opposite. Most of the mercure hotel chains are mainly located near city centres which I believe is very good and although you have to pay for parking which is £10 per night I still believe this to be good value as nearby parking is by the hour and would cost more in the long run. The rooms all feature traditional furniture at the queens which keeps to the style of the hotel,the beds are to die for so comfortable, the bathrooms are very modern and clean, although on this occasion the shower over the bath was faulty, upon calling reception to let them know they were immediately up to our room to see if they could sort it out, when they couldn`t the manager moved us to another room, which at the time we were a little worried as we quite liked the room we had and the view was wonderful. We were given the Montpellier suite which was absolutely amazing and can not thank the manager enough for this, as it made our stay so memorable especially as we were celebrating my partners birthday. Our first night we celebrated my partners birthday in the hotel restaurant. Again the food was excellent as were the staff, we did not tell the hotel it was my partners birthday but soon as they knew they gave us a glass of champagne on the house, which again was wonderful, alex our waiter was very attentive on hand to give us information on places to go for our next night. The bar in the hotel is open to residents all night if you want,Ish the bartender made us very welcome. If you want a good curry that is high quality food and service I recommend the Prithvi which was wonderful. Also one of the bars alex recommended the Mai tai cocktail bar at the courtyard which is not far from the hotel couple of streets away, wonderful cocktails. Above all we had an excellent stay here and so memorable for all the right reasons, thank you to the manager and staff very much appreciated

Room Tip: For couples rooms overlooking the park are really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markanthony50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham again. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

GOOD: Superb location, very friendly staff, very clean, excellent catering (we had breakfast, lunch and dinner there over three days and all were very good), good large meeting hall (our business meeting had 50 delegates - all accommodated well), lift working well, nice lounge for guests (when free), car park (at additional cost). NEEDS ATTENTION: The decorative state of our room can only be described as shabby; peeling paint, wallpaper becoming detached from the wall in places. Air conditioning was broken (and obviously had been for a long, long time). Room was like an oven when we checked in. Quality of the mattress was also awful. (We have slept much better in Travelodges and Premier Inns!) Reported air conditioning was broken on the first day but nothing at all had happened by the time we checked out. Also no leisure facilities (pool, gym sauna etc) at all. (The city needs to chuck the bureaucrats out of the Town Hall (just across Imperial Gardens in front of the hotel) and turn this into a first rate leisure centre which guests from top hotels can access at no (or considerably reduced) cost).

Room Tip: IF you are going to stay here, probably worth the extra to get a front-facing room with view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csrothwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay.
I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence in 2014/15.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham again.
Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
975 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing