We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Laceby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

One night - definitely enough! Arrived at the hotel during a wedding fayre therefore, reception area crowded and noisty. Check-in slow and room allocated not quite what we expected quite small and in need of refurbishment. A member of staff had to use their pass key to open the door and informed us reception had been informed and that maintenance would deal with it. When we returned to the hotel later our door card again would not open the door - another visit to reception our cards reprogrammed. Only one easy chair in room, the bed base on the window side in poor state threads hanging - and the "pocketed duvet', the filling in each corner did not make for a relaxing night's sleep. We had breakfast which was good but feel the only saving grace was the hotel's position in Cheltenham and the charming barman. Would not recommend the Queens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

The standard of service you received is not indicative of our usual high performance. I apologise that on this occasion we have let you, as well as ourselves down.

Please rest assured that I have taken your comments very seriously and have ensured that the necessary action has been taken in order to prevent any re-occurrence of the issues you faced.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    419
    186
    87
    62
See reviews for
146
596
40
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverloch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Queens is a beautiful hotel. The building is very traditional.Located opposite lovely gardens the view from our room was very pleasant. The rooms are traditionally furnished, very comfortable and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Dinner was a la carte and breakfast was buffet style. Food great and hotel and meal well priced. Highly recommend staying here when travelling through the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenInverloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just arrived home after staying for a short break at the Queens Hotel. We were very impressed with the whole experience. We upgraded to a Privilege room which was fantastic. A huge, very comfortable bed. I am sure it was bigger than a King size. The room had two armchairs, an upholstered desk chair, a settee, and lots of complimentary surprises in the room and bathroom. Everything was spotless and relaxing. The evening meals were lovely, very good service and an attractive dining room (although the lighting was a little too subdued). Breakfast was amazing, a huge choice of fresh, locally sourced delicious items. Even down to a basket of Cotswold jams and honey. The staff were friendly, helpful and most of them appeared to enjoy their work. We would recommend this Hotel and will be back for another short break in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms would be good but as we enjoy a large room we upgraded to a Privilege ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TootsyHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham again.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
404 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

it is a lovely quaint hotel in a very interesting part of england, it is
a quiet part of town, but with a lovely garden in front and other interesting
tourist spots. the food was quite good..it has small town quaintness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Arrived during a wedding, unfortunately the hotel does not have separate function and hotel space. Had to fight through with suitcases which was not a good start, and probably not for the wedding guests either!

On arrival we gave our Accor platinum card, and also credit card and ordered newspapers. Later in bar could not charge drinks to our room as ' the account had not been opened', newspapers did not arrive, and on checkout the accor number had not even been put on the account!

The next day another wedding, again trying to get up and down stairs and through reception almost impossible at times - one wedding guest told me to 'use the lift', another said 'glad you are not in a hurry'! The final straw - breakfast finishing early for a wedding fayre. I get the impression this hotel is not interested in you if you are not part of a wedding.

Room clean, but tiny and airless.

Breakfast very good indeed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cc1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Despite the experience you encountered, it is our prime objective to serve all our customers to the best of our ability and to provide unrivalled value in the quality of our services and standards.

I apologise that you were not informed of the weddings and wedding fayre when making your booking.

We value your custom and I hope most sincerely that despite this setback, you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

stayed here with my girlfriend for the night for a treat was a very lavish room with a huge bed and a mini bar :) which is always a good thing the staff were excellent and were very welcoming. the breakfast was amazing from morning meats to the best coffee.

Room Tip: Privilege suite!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

On arrival the staff we excellent. We came with agroup of passengers from the US and the dining arrangements were excellent as well as the food! Rooms were fine, especially the ones overlooking the park, with shops, ATM's and wine bars close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. Newly refurbished in late 2015, one of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. AA Rosette award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar andLounge, WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Pay parking (12 GBP). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Priceline so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing