We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fourth visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fourth visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I had a Saturday night away in this hotel ,we have visited numerous times,unfortunately we ended up in a room that was as wide and long as it was high, small bed,small tv,and we were woken at twenty past three in the morning by some other guests coming back noisily .the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly but the room and sleep quality put a dampener on our stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I apologise that on this occasion you were disturbed by noisy guests.

I hope this experience will not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    420
    186
    87
    62
See reviews for
146
597
40
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I recently stayed here in March during the festival. The hotel is very nice and centrally located. Our room was lovely and the hotel has a regal feel to it. I really have no complaints except that during the Festival this hotel turns into a fraternity house at night. It seems to be the main attraction for after hours partying. Please avoid if you would like to get a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I apologiser that at the time of your visit we were extremely busy and hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

have often stayed at this hotel over the years. generic decor but always clean. our room was ready despite our early arrival and the instant booking of a taxi was handled efficiently. Good location for the town- but very noisy at night. No instructions for turning off the radiators at night and we really object to the £10 per day car parking charge

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tunny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and apologise that you were unable to turn off the radiator.

A number of hotels in town centre locations have introduced car park charges. I am keenly aware that it is an additional expense for our guests, however, given the availability and alternatives I do feel that our charge is fair value.

We value your custom and I hope most sincerely that you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed over last Saturday night whilst visiting in the poetry festival. Brilliant location. Lots of character and the public areas and our room (second floor) appeared recently refreshed. Did not eat dinner but we were very well looked after for breakfast (and late night bar) by friendly helpful staff.. Close to a good choice of restaurants / wine bars. Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a hoot this hotel is! The reception staff are very friendly and the hotel itself is quite extraordinary. It certainly is a grand looking building from the outside. The old rotating entrance door is fun in itself, especially if two people cram in it together armed with bags! It is a very old-fashioned themed hotel and there is a slight whiff of old fashionedness as you enter, but this definitely adds to the charm of the hotel. There is a piano in the reception area and if you are lucky there may be someone playing a jolly tune on it! The room we stayed in was on the third floor with lovely views out over the park at the front of the hotel. The room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. There was a strange deep whirring noise that would go on for a time. We couldn't work out what it was or where it was coming from so we have decided that it must be the old building itself groaning with age! The pictures in the room were slightly turdy but again it adds to the old fashioned air of the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful with hot and cold options and plenty of food. My husband particularly enjoyed the sausages! There was even a jolly chap dressed in a top hat and outfit who offered to carry our bags out for us. The floorboards creaked with agedness. To summarise, this hotel is what it is. It is a very old building therefore you must accept that there are going to be strange noises, creaks, turdy pictures and old whiffs, but the service is friendly, the food is good and you can be sure of having a jolly hoot while staying there! If you want a modern and quiet hotel, this is not really the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel needs updating and is quite shabby looking on the third floor. There was also an awful smell as we entered the hotel reception area, that seem to linger all weekend. We were also given a double bed after booking a Queensize. Wouldn't stay here again and spoilt a romantic weekend away.
There were no pillow or mattress protectors either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham .The restaurant next door that is attached to our drainage system had a breakdown of their dissolving machine and this caused a blockage resulting in the smell. Unfortunately a contractor was not able to attend until after the weekend.

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence early next year.

I do hope you will visit us again when I am confident your faith in the hotel will be restored.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Despite appearances, the hotel is very shabby and could do with some investment.
However the dreadful smell that hits you as you enter the hotel is horrendous, and is definitely the reason that we spent as little time as possible downstairs. A real shame as it would've been nice to enjoy a drink in the bar or just relax in the sitting room. None of this is possible when the stench of drains is as strong as it is. I can honestly say we would never return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wookeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. The restaurant next door that is attached to our drainage system had a breakdown of their dissolving machine and this caused a blockage resulting in the smell. Unfortunately a contractor was not able to attend until after the weekend and I apologise that this spoilt your weekend.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel and visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. Newly refurbished in late 2015, one of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. AA Rosette award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar andLounge, WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Pay parking (12 GBP). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing