We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Grotty room, musty dusty smell, dirty bathroom-so much so I wouldn't use the shower, peephole cover on door would not stay closed, menus and leaflets in room were grubby and dirty, some light switches did not work. Breakfast was ok. Over all a very disappointing stay. Such a shame the room was so bad when the rest of the building is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSR921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and have contacted you direct to inform you of the upcoming programme to refurbish the hotel.

Kind Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I had a Saturday night away in this hotel ,we have visited numerous times,unfortunately we ended up in a room that was as wide and long as it was high, small bed,small tv,and we were woken at twenty past three in the morning by some other guests coming back noisily .the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly but the room and sleep quality put a dampener on our stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I apologise that on this occasion you were disturbed by noisy guests.

I hope this experience will not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I recently stayed here in March during the festival. The hotel is very nice and centrally located. Our room was lovely and the hotel has a regal feel to it. I really have no complaints except that during the Festival this hotel turns into a fraternity house at night. It seems to be the main attraction for after hours partying. Please avoid if you would like to get a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I apologiser that at the time of your visit we were extremely busy and hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

have often stayed at this hotel over the years. generic decor but always clean. our room was ready despite our early arrival and the instant booking of a taxi was handled efficiently. Good location for the town- but very noisy at night. No instructions for turning off the radiators at night and we really object to the £10 per day car parking charge

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tunny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and apologise that you were unable to turn off the radiator.

A number of hotels in town centre locations have introduced car park charges. I am keenly aware that it is an additional expense for our guests, however, given the availability and alternatives I do feel that our charge is fair value.

We value your custom and I hope most sincerely that you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed over last Saturday night whilst visiting in the poetry festival. Brilliant location. Lots of character and the public areas and our room (second floor) appeared recently refreshed. Did not eat dinner but we were very well looked after for breakfast (and late night bar) by friendly helpful staff.. Close to a good choice of restaurants / wine bars. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a hoot this hotel is! The reception staff are very friendly and the hotel itself is quite extraordinary. It certainly is a grand looking building from the outside. The old rotating entrance door is fun in itself, especially if two people cram in it together armed with bags! It is a very old-fashioned themed hotel and there is a slight whiff of old fashionedness as you enter, but this definitely adds to the charm of the hotel. There is a piano in the reception area and if you are lucky there may be someone playing a jolly tune on it! The room we stayed in was on the third floor with lovely views out over the park at the front of the hotel. The room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. There was a strange deep whirring noise that would go on for a time. We couldn't work out what it was or where it was coming from so we have decided that it must be the old building itself groaning with age! The pictures in the room were slightly turdy but again it adds to the old fashioned air of the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful with hot and cold options and plenty of food. My husband particularly enjoyed the sausages! There was even a jolly chap dressed in a top hat and outfit who offered to carry our bags out for us. The floorboards creaked with agedness. To summarise, this hotel is what it is. It is a very old building therefore you must accept that there are going to be strange noises, creaks, turdy pictures and old whiffs, but the service is friendly, the food is good and you can be sure of having a jolly hoot while staying there! If you want a modern and quiet hotel, this is not really the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel needs updating and is quite shabby looking on the third floor. There was also an awful smell as we entered the hotel reception area, that seem to linger all weekend. We were also given a double bed after booking a Queensize. Wouldn't stay here again and spoilt a romantic weekend away.
There were no pillow or mattress protectors either.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham .The restaurant next door that is attached to our drainage system had a breakdown of their dissolving machine and this caused a blockage resulting in the smell. Unfortunately a contractor was not able to attend until after the weekend.

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence early next year.

I do hope you will visit us again when I am confident your faith in the hotel will be restored.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £107 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing