We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queen's Hotel Cheltenham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    427
    188
    89
    62
See reviews for
151
611
41
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I attended an Evening wedding reception where the service and attention to detail was appalling. Reception couldn't be bothered to show us to the event. The bar had nobody serving and when somebody arrived we were charged £13.10 for an ordinary bottle of beer and a vodka and lemonade which is fine if the service is special - it wasn't. During the evening the staff were clearing away and preparing for something else but doing so whilst we were trying to socialise and enjoy the event. It was as though we were in their way. I wouldn't recommend holding an event here, certainly not an evening Wedding reception. Fortunately it didn't distract from the enjoyment for the lovely couple and we didn't allow it to spoil our evening.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank prime7919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

The standard of service you received is not indicative of our usual high performance and I apologise that on this occasion we have let you, as well as ourselves down. I can assure you that more care will be taken in the future to ensure our standards remain high.
Despite the experience you encountered, it is our prime objective to serve all our customers to the best of our ability and to provide unrivalled value in the quality of our services and standards. We value your custom and I hope most sincerely that despite this setback, you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lovely and unusual range of savoury selection, followed by a varied range of cakes.
Topped up drinks was nice, although the waitress didn't know what a Mocha was! Strange that coffee culture has not hit this prestigious hotel!
Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good parking.
Bit pricy in comparison to other places, but not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnytwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed afternoon tea at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Old fashioned grandeur. Excellent breakfast. Fantastic location just by the shops. The rooms were a little old fashioned= could be updated but clean and nice atmosphere overall. We were impressed by the excellent breakfast and central location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence inearly 2015.

Kind Regards
Peter Watt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited here for just one night and had a great stay. Loved the old fashioned grand feel of the place, from the old rotating door at the entrance to the fabulous historical wallpaper (yes, really) on the main staircase. The staff were brilliant and let me check in early, the car parking I felt was really reasonable (10 pounds) for a good 24 hours in central Cheltenham and the location cannot be bettered. My room was a fair size with high ceilings and a good bathroom. It is situated in Montpellier (small boutique type shops and cafes) and at the top of the Promenade (bigger shops) meaning that you are a few short steps away from lots of lovely shops, places to eat and drink and generally soak up the atmosphere of fabulous Cheltenham. Breakfast was really good, lots to choose from, excellent service and delicious creamy scrambled eggs! I would not hesitate to stay here again, many thanks to all for a lovely short break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CalChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here as part of partners 50th birthday celebrations. Hotel location was great. Hotel itself is beautiful. The room we had was a lovely big room. Very classic hotel which is what i was looking for and it didn't disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing