We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, pretty worn out, over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, pretty worn out, over-priced”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just an overnight stay. Great location for visiting bars, etc of Montpellier. Room was okay, stained furniture, peeling paint. Breakfast room in the morning very messy, tables hadn't been cleared. Breakfast buffet style - good choice of food. All in all, okay stay but way over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmellypantsWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and we have noted your comments about the breakfast room.

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence early in 2015.

We value your custom and I hope most sincerely that despite this setback, you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.

Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    430
    189
    90
    63
See reviews for
154
623
42
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worthing,sussex,england
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week to attend the Visit England awards. Had room 314 not far from the lift. Nice sized room and a big comfy bed. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Wardrobe, iron and board. Chest of drawers and desk. Bathroom nice size again with shower and bath, which as a female I prefer. The building is old and the rooms are too but this is part of the charm.
Small niggles like a broken sink plug, wall scuffs and peeling wallpaper but this did not ruin my stay. Had breakfast nice selection and juice and hot drinks. Would stay again if I was in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nikki012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence early 2015.

Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here last minute, always wanted to stay here after years of racing at Cheltenham , but was a bit disappointed overall.... Very nice old fashioned room but it was noisy outside until 4am, the hotel had a drain smell inside which was not very pleasant .

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastelWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter of a drain smell.

I apologise that you were distrurbed by noise from outside, as we are a town centre hotel we do experience this from time to time.

Kind regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If I was the manager who writes the answers to poor reviews, I would look for another position.
The tired clapped old property that has being going to be refurbished by various operators in the last twenty years is dire. The lounge area is full of broken furniture that a sale rooms would not accept and should be put on a skip. The staff are pleasant but totally demoralized and the bedrooms are say 10, no 30 years out of date.

I visit " Cheltenham Spa" as the retired majors call it, several times a year but overseas guests must think they are staying in some sort of detention centre A few bright lights and shiny tiles in the bathrooms are a start but its only money that is stopping further improvements. A gold mine lying in wait for the right operator with vision as it deserves to be good, or changed into apartments. I will watch with interest.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write with your concerns on the general décor and fabric of the Queen’s Hotel, Cheltenham.
I do apologise that the replies on our trip advisor website do not meet with your approval. I have been the General Manager at the Queen’s Hotel for the past 2 years, during which time a refurbishment programme has been discussed in various site visits and future development plans over these years.
The Queen’s hotel is a well-established hotel in the centre of Cheltenham and due to the age and history of the hotel, I am afraid it has taken longer than originally planned to start refurbishing the total hotel. We have however completed 5 bedrooms in past 2 years and have now appointed a project manager and a designer to start the initial development of the Queen’s Hotel.
We are a grade II listed building in Regency Cheltenham Spa and therefore all future plans, designs and renovation have to be met by English Heritage, which has resulted in a delay in a pacific start date being confirmed, I am sorry.
I can assure you that every effort is made to enhance the hotel through service, and one of our strong points has been our staff, and I do as the General Manager meet and talk with my team throughout the day, when I am on duty.
With kind regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I attended an Evening wedding reception where the service and attention to detail was appalling. Reception couldn't be bothered to show us to the event. The bar had nobody serving and when somebody arrived we were charged £13.10 for an ordinary bottle of beer and a vodka and lemonade which is fine if the service is special - it wasn't. During the evening the staff were clearing away and preparing for something else but doing so whilst we were trying to socialise and enjoy the event. It was as though we were in their way. I wouldn't recommend holding an event here, certainly not an evening Wedding reception. Fortunately it didn't distract from the enjoyment for the lovely couple and we didn't allow it to spoil our evening.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank prime7919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

The standard of service you received is not indicative of our usual high performance and I apologise that on this occasion we have let you, as well as ourselves down. I can assure you that more care will be taken in the future to ensure our standards remain high.
Despite the experience you encountered, it is our prime objective to serve all our customers to the best of our ability and to provide unrivalled value in the quality of our services and standards. We value your custom and I hope most sincerely that despite this setback, you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lovely and unusual range of savoury selection, followed by a varied range of cakes.
Topped up drinks was nice, although the waitress didn't know what a Mocha was! Strange that coffee culture has not hit this prestigious hotel!
Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good parking.
Bit pricy in comparison to other places, but not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnytwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed afternoon tea at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing