We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,488)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveller rating
608
497
210
100
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
497
210
100
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial gardensafternoon teabrasserie blanccar parklovely hotelthird floordeluxe rooman upgradewalk in showerbeautiful buildingtown centrebars and restaurantsnight's sleeplovely roomshort breakstayed for one nightenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
967 - 972 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I often go out for afternoon tea, in Cheltenham and surrounding area, and no cafe or hotel can match the Queens Hotel, in Cheltenham. The Afternoon Tea, has sausage rolls and other savoury delights, as well as an amazing assortment of miniature patisserie and cakes. The staff are very attentive, and a special mention to Daniel, who always makes our occasions extra special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garnetess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed afternoon tea at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. My team and in particular Daniel will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mark Platt We

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Being a coach driver I have stayed in a lot of hotels around europe..this hotel is one of the best...lovely staff...food first class...magnificent rooms...in the heart of cheltenham.....give this hotel a try .....you will not be dissapointed....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank philevans61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and I hope to see you on your next trip.
Kind regards, Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great service and full recognition of Accor Platinum loyalty benefits (which is a first for me). Well located and the staff try hard to make your stay pleasant. But unfortunately the rooms are in need of a makeover (including air conditioning). They are however very spacious. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenhamand look forward to seeing you again

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and the programme date is due to commence early 2015.

Kind regards, Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only stayed overnight in this stylish hotel, the staff were friendly and welcoming, we had an upgrade to an excellent suite. We arrived late and the restaurant was very accommodating , the food was a little disappointing .we will return and would like to stay a few days in this elegant town

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had arranged a business meeting lunch at the Queens, and although the food was good the service was awful. We met in the bar for a pre lunch drink to find it full but with no staff, in fact a customer approached me because I had a business suit on to see if I was a member of staff. Eventually a lady arrived and gave me that look of 'What do you want' After explaining that we would like a drink and a table had been booked for lunch for 13.00pm we went and sat down and waited for the drinks and the menu. She didn't bring the menu until I asked yet again, she was not a happy lady and scowled at us. We eventually sat down at 13.30pm to a reasonable lunch. When we had finished our meal, we waiting for our waitress to bring the bill, she never arrived. I then had to go back the hotel reception and ask if someone could assist us. I broke up the two ladies conversation and again received that look of 'What do you want' A word for the management take your staff to San Francisco where I visited recently and the Hotels, Restaurants and stores where the level of polite service is 1000% better than this establishment!

Room Tip: Think twice about going, and if you do go allow a few hours to find some friendly staff
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Steve57hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

The standard of service you received is not indicative of our usual high performance and I apologise that on this occasion we have let you, as well as ourselves down.

it is not acceptable to have such lapses in the service we provide. Necessary steps have been taken, including a full staff support and re-training to prevent any further issues.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews