We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queens Hotel did not come up to my expectation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Room was in need of a good refresh. During night a leak from above dripped into the bathroom. Fortunately it dripped into the toilet so no real emergency, but disturbed sleep. Informed reception following morning. Too late for our comfort as we were leaving. When we first arrived the TV was not working had to inform reception twice. It was too late for us by then as we were going out to a concert. When we returned from our evening out at approx. 10pm we decided to have a drink in the bar but did not stay very long due to rowdy families with young children behaving inconsiderately. All in all not what we expected from the Queens Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham wasn’t up to expectations.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will address the issues you had in your room with my maintence manager immediately.

Kind Regards

Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Disappointing stay in this Cheltenham landmark. The location is excellent but the rooms are very tired. Our corner room has wonderful views over the promenade and was quite large but was in serious need of updating as was the bathroom. And some sort of secondary glazing would have blocked off the traffic noise. Staff are reasonably friendly but the facilities are disappointing. A very small bar (which can't accommodate anywhere near the number of guests when the hotel is busy) and an uninspiring buffet breakfast. Could be so much better

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I apologise most sincerely that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am however, pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and the programme date is due to commence January 2015.

Despite your disappointment I do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We met friends here for the weekend and were very pleased with the welcome and staff. It was really refreshing to see so many senior staff around and doing anything which was needed to ensure the smooth running of the hotel. The doorman Mike was a particular delight. He looked smart and was willing to get stuck in on any task it seemed. He always seemed to be around. Our rooms were clean but definitely needed an upgrade and the Queen sized beds would benefit from an upgrade to King size or superking. I would prefer a shower rather than bath as I find it difficult with age to climb into the bath safely. The breakfasts and service were excellent but probably the best thing about this hotel apart from the very helpful and willing staff is the amazing location. Located on the Promenade we were able to wander to the shops quite easily. There was a band concert to enjoy in the park at the front of the hotel on several occasions during our stay-as the music festival was on at the time- local artists were exhibiting their work within 100 yards and we were treated to a splendid firework display on the Saturday night. Attached to the hotel is an outstanding restaurant (Brasserie Blanc) which we much enjoyed. It is a super hotel in which to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuppence40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I often go out for afternoon tea, in Cheltenham and surrounding area, and no cafe or hotel can match the Queens Hotel, in Cheltenham. The Afternoon Tea, has sausage rolls and other savoury delights, as well as an amazing assortment of miniature patisserie and cakes. The staff are very attentive, and a special mention to Daniel, who always makes our occasions extra special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garnetess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed afternoon tea at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. My team and in particular Daniel will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mark Platt We

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Being a coach driver I have stayed in a lot of hotels around europe..this hotel is one of the best...lovely staff...food first class...magnificent rooms...in the heart of cheltenham.....give this hotel a try .....you will not be dissapointed....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank philevans61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and I hope to see you on your next trip.
Kind regards, Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great service and full recognition of Accor Platinum loyalty benefits (which is a first for me). Well located and the staff try hard to make your stay pleasant. But unfortunately the rooms are in need of a makeover (including air conditioning). They are however very spacious. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenhamand look forward to seeing you again

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and the programme date is due to commence early 2015.

Kind regards, Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only stayed overnight in this stylish hotel, the staff were friendly and welcoming, we had an upgrade to an excellent suite. We arrived late and the restaurant was very accommodating , the food was a little disappointing .we will return and would like to stay a few days in this elegant town

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England (Formerly Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £107 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing