We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveller rating
619
499
210
100
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
499
210
100
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial gardens afternoon tea brasserie blanc car park lovely hotel third floor deluxe room an upgrade walk in shower beautiful building town centre bars and restaurants central location night's sleep lovely room short break stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
975 - 980 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visit Cheltenham regularly. The Queen's Hotel, when owned by Forte, was a place we loved - the place where we would celebrate birthdays and special occasions, usually with lunch or afternoon tea, especially when the resident pianist Nicholas O'Neill played daily between 3 pm and 5pm.. More recently, we have enjoyed dining at Blanc's Brasserie. Last Saturday morning, July 5th, we popped in for morning coffee. We were asked if we had booked. This took us aback somewhat. We were, however, told that staff were busy! The reception area at that time had two small parties seated at coffee tables. We indicated an empty table and were graciously permitted to sit there to take our chances with the "busy" staff. We noted several staff who appeared relaxed and conversational (with each other) - betraying no obvious signs of any pressure to provide service. We sat for some time. A lady at an adjacent table, having obviously also waited for some time, walked to reception and asked for a staff member to take her party's order. When a member of staff eventually appeared, she came to our table instead. We insisted that she take the order of the people who had been waiting well before ourselves, assuming (wrongly) that she would soon return and attend to us. We waited for another ten minutes, with no further sightings of the waitress. It was, several minutes later still, when another liveried staff-member walked right past us and out of sight, that we decided to take our custom elsewhere. I cannot express how disappointed we are at experiencing such practised indifference in a place with which we have traditionally associated excellent and welcoming service. O tempora! O mores! Indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetcharity19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

I am very sorry to hear that your visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham was not up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person and would appreciate it if you would call me on 01242 514754 or email me on h6632-fb@accor.com

Kind regards
Jonathan Rudd
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel stands so proud in a beautiful location ,it is so very convenient for the lovely Montpellier gardens the shops, all in walking distance.we stayed here for my daughters 30th birthday party over several months of organising the party and booking several rooms for our guests we had a lot of contact with the staff.everyone was so very friendly and helpful the events manager was excellent. I did think the accommodation was very average for a 4star hotel and a lot of our guests commented on the the bar prices being very high.how ever we had a lovely party and stay in this lovely hotel

Room Tip: We were in 127 which over looks the car park so it was peaceful enough but room tired
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and that your daugheters birthday celebrations were enjoyed by all.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Room was in need of a good refresh. During night a leak from above dripped into the bathroom. Fortunately it dripped into the toilet so no real emergency, but disturbed sleep. Informed reception following morning. Too late for our comfort as we were leaving. When we first arrived the TV was not working had to inform reception twice. It was too late for us by then as we were going out to a concert. When we returned from our evening out at approx. 10pm we decided to have a drink in the bar but did not stay very long due to rowdy families with young children behaving inconsiderately. All in all not what we expected from the Queens Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the park.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham wasn’t up to expectations.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will address the issues you had in your room with my maintence manager immediately.

Kind Regards

Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Disappointing stay in this Cheltenham landmark. The location is excellent but the rooms are very tired. Our corner room has wonderful views over the promenade and was quite large but was in serious need of updating as was the bathroom. And some sort of secondary glazing would have blocked off the traffic noise. Staff are reasonably friendly but the facilities are disappointing. A very small bar (which can't accommodate anywhere near the number of guests when the hotel is busy) and an uninspiring buffet breakfast. Could be so much better

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I apologise most sincerely that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am however, pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and the programme date is due to commence January 2015.

Despite your disappointment I do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We met friends here for the weekend and were very pleased with the welcome and staff. It was really refreshing to see so many senior staff around and doing anything which was needed to ensure the smooth running of the hotel. The doorman Mike was a particular delight. He looked smart and was willing to get stuck in on any task it seemed. He always seemed to be around. Our rooms were clean but definitely needed an upgrade and the Queen sized beds would benefit from an upgrade to King size or superking. I would prefer a shower rather than bath as I find it difficult with age to climb into the bath safely. The breakfasts and service were excellent but probably the best thing about this hotel apart from the very helpful and willing staff is the amazing location. Located on the Promenade we were able to wander to the shops quite easily. There was a band concert to enjoy in the park at the front of the hotel on several occasions during our stay-as the music festival was on at the time- local artists were exhibiting their work within 100 yards and we were treated to a splendid firework display on the Saturday night. Attached to the hotel is an outstanding restaurant (Brasserie Blanc) which we much enjoyed. It is a super hotel in which to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuppence40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews