We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveller rating
619
499
210
100
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
499
210
100
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial gardens afternoon tea brasserie blanc car park lovely hotel third floor deluxe room an upgrade walk in shower beautiful building town centre bars and restaurants central location night's sleep lovely room short break stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
973 - 978 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked the hotel for a short break as part as our 25th Wedding anniversary. Booked on the strengthen of location and external appearance. Read the reviews and there was nothing bad, but many commented on how tired the hotel looked and needed refurbishment. Wished we had listened, the stay wasn't bad but given we paid considerable more for this hotel we expected more and were disappointed. The room was small, very outdated in terms of décor and furniture. No valance on the bed the base which made it look shabby and the gloss on the bathroom door had yellowed in places and looked neglected. Breakfast was nice. Staff were helpful and pleasant. What summed it up for me was when we were checking out, we were asked if we'd enjoyed the stay and we said it was ok. The Receptionist asked why only ok and we outlined our comments made above. She said sorry, we know and that's why we are having a major refurbishment of the hotel in January 2015. If they know this why charge the prices they do?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and that you were unhappy with the rate.

I hope most sincerely that despite this you will feel able to continue to visit us in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated in the Montpellier area of Cheltenham with a good choice of restaurants/ bars locally. The rooms are in need of a refurb, planned for 2015, but are large and clean. Breakfast was good, passed the test of soft fried eggs from a buffet breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank tonyder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visit Cheltenham regularly. The Queen's Hotel, when owned by Forte, was a place we loved - the place where we would celebrate birthdays and special occasions, usually with lunch or afternoon tea, especially when the resident pianist Nicholas O'Neill played daily between 3 pm and 5pm.. More recently, we have enjoyed dining at Blanc's Brasserie. Last Saturday morning, July 5th, we popped in for morning coffee. We were asked if we had booked. This took us aback somewhat. We were, however, told that staff were busy! The reception area at that time had two small parties seated at coffee tables. We indicated an empty table and were graciously permitted to sit there to take our chances with the "busy" staff. We noted several staff who appeared relaxed and conversational (with each other) - betraying no obvious signs of any pressure to provide service. We sat for some time. A lady at an adjacent table, having obviously also waited for some time, walked to reception and asked for a staff member to take her party's order. When a member of staff eventually appeared, she came to our table instead. We insisted that she take the order of the people who had been waiting well before ourselves, assuming (wrongly) that she would soon return and attend to us. We waited for another ten minutes, with no further sightings of the waitress. It was, several minutes later still, when another liveried staff-member walked right past us and out of sight, that we decided to take our custom elsewhere. I cannot express how disappointed we are at experiencing such practised indifference in a place with which we have traditionally associated excellent and welcoming service. O tempora! O mores! Indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetcharity19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

I am very sorry to hear that your visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham was not up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person and would appreciate it if you would call me on 01242 514754 or email me on h6632-fb@accor.com

Kind regards
Jonathan Rudd
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel stands so proud in a beautiful location ,it is so very convenient for the lovely Montpellier gardens the shops, all in walking distance.we stayed here for my daughters 30th birthday party over several months of organising the party and booking several rooms for our guests we had a lot of contact with the staff.everyone was so very friendly and helpful the events manager was excellent. I did think the accommodation was very average for a 4star hotel and a lot of our guests commented on the the bar prices being very high.how ever we had a lovely party and stay in this lovely hotel

Room Tip: We were in 127 which over looks the car park so it was peaceful enough but room tired
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and that your daugheters birthday celebrations were enjoyed by all.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Room was in need of a good refresh. During night a leak from above dripped into the bathroom. Fortunately it dripped into the toilet so no real emergency, but disturbed sleep. Informed reception following morning. Too late for our comfort as we were leaving. When we first arrived the TV was not working had to inform reception twice. It was too late for us by then as we were going out to a concert. When we returned from our evening out at approx. 10pm we decided to have a drink in the bar but did not stay very long due to rowdy families with young children behaving inconsiderately. All in all not what we expected from the Queens Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the park.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham wasn’t up to expectations.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will address the issues you had in your room with my maintence manager immediately.

Kind Regards

Mark Platt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews