We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Historical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here recently on a conference. Cheltenham itself is a beautiful place and this hotel is well placed. There is this amazing staircase with listed wall paper that they are putting a lot of effort into repairing and touching up, check it out, some of it is actually paint! The conference room is really ornate. They seem to be putting a lot of effort into retoring an old building which is nice to see. Nice to hang out in an old style building in contrast to the new purpose built buildings. The staff were all very helpful, I will be back again but hopefully not on business the next time

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie10Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

I didn't actually stay here as I live in the area. However, I was meeting an out of town colleague for a business meeting and this seemed like the ideal spot, right in the centre of Cheltenham.

The decor is drab and tired, the carpets very worn and it just looks scruffy. If you can get beyond that, it does appear to at least offer the sort of stuff you expect - tables and chairs for coffee etc and a bar. What's missing? Staff. There seems to be very few staff around and no-one in obvious control. After three attempts to order coffee we nearly gave up when it actually arrived (appalling, cheap and nasty) . We thought about lunch there and decided it was better to go elsewhere.

Time to pay for the coffee and again we nearly had to give up due to the absence of any staff - ended up paying at 'reception' - overworked, inundated with customers - and they had no change - in fact it seemed that the idea someone may actually want to pay with cash had not occured to the management; who were still very noticeable by their complete absence.

Very poor 'service', drab and unloved - this corporate who have bought it need to invest in it and its staff before I think about recommending anyone to it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukscubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I stayed here for one night and was very impressed. All of the staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived, the room was spacious and airy, with magnificent high ceilings and the most comfortable four poster bed that I have ever slept in. The room also had plenty of high quality complimentary toiletries, as well as comp mineral water, tea/coffee and home made flapjacks. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in a chain hotel, with quality produce and four different types of egg! The breakfast room staff were all friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. The hotel also has a good conservatory and outdoor area for when the sun shines, and although the overall feel is slightly "aged", the hotel is well kept and clean, and I think that this is part of the Hotel's charm and in keeping with a Georgian town, rather than a shiny, modern place with minimalist decor and shiny chrome everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banjo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mercure Queens this weekend (5 April). It was a perfectly adequate hotel. It was a little faded, but the room was very good - clean and well decorated with a very good bathroom - and the breakfast was pretty good. Plentiful anyway! Room service breakfast was very good - better than the dining room in fact.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

This is our fourteenth year at The Queens and each time is a wonderful experience. Considering the amount of people that stay at the hotel at Cheltenham Festival the staff cope very well and the breakfast is fantastic. It's never going to be quiet at this time!
Our executive room was as always, excellent, large and plenty of room for myself and two friends. (Only minus they ran out of Guinness but it was the last night of the races!!).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyWest_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

This hotel has certainly seen better days. Its a wonderful old building, and in an ideal position in the town, but its tired and in desperate need of renovation.
I stayed last Monday night, and paid £74 for a standard double room, booked online. Really surprised at the price, as it was the night before Cheltenham races began, and hotel accommodation in the town was hard to come by, even booking 6 weeks in advance.
If I had been going to the races, it would have been ideal, as the atmosphere was really 'rockin' ! The bars were full to bursting, and everyone was really friendly.
However, I was actually there on business and had to work the next day. Although my room was on the second floor, the live band and other guests could be heard clearly, and didnt make for a good nights sleep.
The room itself was fine, the bed was comfy, although the bathroom had no heating and was cold. Service at reception was sparodic, as the hotel was completely full. I didnt eat on site, so cant comment, but there are plenty of restaurants close by. The car park on site is very handy.
I would stay again, for the same price, as the location is great - but if its Cheltenham Gold Cup week, I'm going to the races !

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

For the location alone you can't better this hotel although it suffers from being from a bygone age which in its heyday must have looked fantastic (they mention how many bedrooms used to be stables!) but maybe today it just looks tiried and old fashioned, the maintenance costs must be horrendous and it shows. check in was smooth and friendly, our room overlooking the main street was small with a small bathroom for 2 to use at the same time, we did not eat in the hotel at all, you are surrounded by fantastic restaurants and coffee houses so there really is no need but the overnight parking at the hotel for £10 is very reasonable if you intend to go shopping or linger in the town, the local NCP is way more than that. For the location alone I can highly recommend it but if you like your hotels modern and contemporary avoid, my eyes were somewhat strained descending the grand staircase looking at the patterned carpet coupled with the patterned wallpaper which after a few drinks seemed to merge into one!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England (Formerly Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £107 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing