We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
1 review
“Great Service”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Arrived at hotel after hideous journey and staff bent over backwards to help me. Efficient check -in, kept restaurant open late so I could eat; found me a phone charger - great service. Couldn't ask for more individual attention .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackster_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    431
    189
    90
    64
See reviews for
154
624
42
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Really a bad hotel, front of house staff were rude and abrupt. The room we had was very small and noisy, I mean really noisy. You could hear every footstep outside and with a number of stag and hen doos in the hotel there was little sleep.

The air conditioning was broken and the window we had looked out onto a ledge that was covered in pigeon poo (see photo) so we didn’t want to open the widow.

We complained but the receptionist wasn’t in the slightest bit interest. To add insult to injury he then added that other guests had previously complained about the broken air con yet it still hadnt been fixed.

I could go on – public areas were faded, some peeling wallpaper, long wait at reception… but you probably get the impression by now.

Overall an expensive, grotty hotel. Plenty of other, better, choices in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristolstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The Queens Hotel is situated in a lovely position at the top of the Promenade in Cheltenham. Indeed it reminds one of a small scale Buckingham Palace which provides a wonderful background for wedding photographs! The new Function Room in which weddings are held has been delightfully refurbished in a classic contemporary manner which remains sympathetic to the style of this most elegant hotel.

Most importantly the service and helpfulness of the management and staff, both prior to and during the wedding was first class and engendered a relaxed and happy atmosphere throughout the occasion. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and served.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I booked my room here 3 months in advance. Paid in full in advance I confirmed the room by telephone four hours before arrival. "Look forwards to seeing you sir" they said.
Upon arrival there was no room. They were unable to find a room in another hotel.
Wife crying in reception.

Absolutely furious. Misrepresentation. Negligence. Breach of contract.

Complete charlatans. Will never go back.

Mercure have refunded my room and travel costs. They have also offered 2 nights in a Mercure free. No thanks.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penguin_Family_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here recently on a conference. Cheltenham itself is a beautiful place and this hotel is well placed. There is this amazing staircase with listed wall paper that they are putting a lot of effort into repairing and touching up, check it out, some of it is actually paint! The conference room is really ornate. They seem to be putting a lot of effort into retoring an old building which is nice to see. Nice to hang out in an old style building in contrast to the new purpose built buildings. The staff were all very helpful, I will be back again but hopefully not on business the next time

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie10Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I didn't actually stay here as I live in the area. However, I was meeting an out of town colleague for a business meeting and this seemed like the ideal spot, right in the centre of Cheltenham.

The decor is drab and tired, the carpets very worn and it just looks scruffy. If you can get beyond that, it does appear to at least offer the sort of stuff you expect - tables and chairs for coffee etc and a bar. What's missing? Staff. There seems to be very few staff around and no-one in obvious control. After three attempts to order coffee we nearly gave up when it actually arrived (appalling, cheap and nasty) . We thought about lunch there and decided it was better to go elsewhere.

Time to pay for the coffee and again we nearly had to give up due to the absence of any staff - ended up paying at 'reception' - overworked, inundated with customers - and they had no change - in fact it seemed that the idea someone may actually want to pay with cash had not occured to the management; who were still very noticeable by their complete absence.

Very poor 'service', drab and unloved - this corporate who have bought it need to invest in it and its staff before I think about recommending anyone to it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukscubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I stayed here for one night and was very impressed. All of the staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived, the room was spacious and airy, with magnificent high ceilings and the most comfortable four poster bed that I have ever slept in. The room also had plenty of high quality complimentary toiletries, as well as comp mineral water, tea/coffee and home made flapjacks. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in a chain hotel, with quality produce and four different types of egg! The breakfast room staff were all friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. The hotel also has a good conservatory and outdoor area for when the sun shines, and although the overall feel is slightly "aged", the hotel is well kept and clean, and I think that this is part of the Hotel's charm and in keeping with a Georgian town, rather than a shiny, modern place with minimalist decor and shiny chrome everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banjo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing